Journal profile
Exercise Medicine
ISSN 2508-9056 · Sapientia Publishing Group · Korea, Republic of
Exercise Medicine: fully open access; APC about USD 1,200; review about 12 weeks (community reports); 4 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Exercise Medicine is published by Sapientia Publishing Group. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Physical Activity and Health, Cardiovascular and exercise physiology and Sports Performance and Training, together about 43.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Exercise Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that aims to bridge the gap between research and practice in exercise and health promotion and in the disease prevention and treatment, and understanding of human performance and health. Exercise Medicine has a special focus on definitive articles that interpret and evaluate the current literature to provide the rationale for, and application of, research findings for exercise specialists and physiologists, physicians, physical therapists, trainers, and the like. The journal publishes research articles, clinical studies, case studies, and brief reports on current topics in sports and exercise medicine. Exercise Medicine also welcomes the submission of high-quality review articles and meta-analyses in the above fields. Full text is freely available from http://www.exercmed.org/. Regular features of the journal include the following: disease prevention and treatment by exercise; exercise for health promotion; and recommendations for exercise training and nutrition. Fields of particular interest to the journal include (but are not limited to): • Sports & Exercise Medicine • Exercise Physiology • Exercise Biochemistry and Nutriton • Human Performance and Health • Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation • Biomechanics and Neuroscience • Exercise and Disease Management • Health Promotion • Physical Activity Epidemiology • Sports and Exercise Psychology • Pediatric Physical Activity & Fitness • Exercise and Brain Health
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Junghoon KimPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named South Korea 10, Japan 5, Italy 3, Mainland China 1, United States 1 (25 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Physical Activity and HealthMedicine21.9%
- Cardiovascular and exercise physiologyMedicine12.3%
- Sports Performance and TrainingMedicine9.7%
- Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine6.1%
- Sports injuries and preventionMedicine6.1%
- Exercise and Physiological ResponsesMedicine4.4%
- Children's Physical and Motor DevelopmentPsychology4.4%
- Sports Dynamics and BiomechanicsEngineering4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 8OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 55 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1 | 1 | 21 |
| 2025 | 4 | 4 | 23 |
| 2024 | 2 | 2 | 22 |
| 2023 | 3 | 3 | 32 |
| 2022 | 5 | 5 | 18 |
| 2021 | 4 | 4 | 22 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
Too few articlesOnly 5 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,200 | Yes | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,200 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,200 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,200 / USD 600 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- 3–5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted12
- brief reportBrief Report $600Length not stated
- case reportCase Report $600Length not stated
- clinical studyClinical Study $1,200Length not stated
- editorialEditorial FreeLength not stated
- invited special articleInvited Special Article FreeLength not stated
- letter to editorsLetter to Editors FreeLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the EditorLength not stated
- mini reviewMini Review $600Length not stated
- research articleResearch Article $1,200Length not stated
- reviewReview $1,200Length not stated
- special articleSpecial ArticleLength not stated
- study protocolStudy ProtocolLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access
- License & copyright
Authors retain copyright. Model summary
Copyright to any open access article in a journal published by Sapientia Publishing Group is retained by the author(s). Authors grant Sapientia Publishing Group the license to publish the article and identify itself as the original publisher.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under CC BY 4.0 license. Model summary
All articles published in Exercise Medicine is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (http://creativecommons.org/ licenses/by/4.0/), which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Sapientia Publishing Group
- Country or region
- Korea, Republic of
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2508-9056
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 10 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Exercise Medicine
How long does peer review take at Exercise Medicine?
Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Exercise Medicine?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: 3–5; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Exercise Medicine based?
Of the 25 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (10), Japan (5) and Italy (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Exercise Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Exercise Medicine is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Exercise Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Exercise Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,200.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .