Journal profile · Multiple
ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics
ISSN 1339-1119 · University of Presov, Faculty of Arts · Slovakia
ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics: CAS Zone 4 · Arts (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 18 weeks (community reports); 55 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics is published by University of Presov, Faculty of Arts and is in Zone 4 of Arts in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Posthumanist Ethics and Activism, Geographies of human-animal interactions and Ethics, Aesthetics, and Art, together about 32.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Posthumanist Ethics and ActivismSocial Sciences11.9%
- Geographies of human-animal interactionsSocial Sciences10.7%
- Ethics, Aesthetics, and ArtArts and Humanities9.5%
- Environmental Philosophy and EthicsEnvironmental Science8.3%
- Ecocriticism and Environmental LiteratureArts and Humanities7.7%
- Phenomenology and Existential PhilosophyPsychology4.8%
- Aesthetic Perception and AnalysisNeuroscience4.8%
- Education, Psychology, and Social ResearchSocial Sciences4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Arts Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Arts | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Art | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Arts Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Arts | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Art | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Philosophy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.13LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.36LetPub ·
- h-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 32LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 103 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 17 | 0 |
| 2025 | 55 | 55 | 0 |
| 2024 | 19 | 19 | 0 |
| 2023 | 12 | 12 | 0 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Keywords
- 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,500 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- artist portfoliosArtist portfolios Curated collections of artists’ work.Length not stated
- book reviewReviews of recently published volumes in relevant fields. Contributions to this section should not normally exceed 3,500 words (excluding notes and bibliography…main text ≤ 3,500 words
- book reviewsBook reviews Reviews of recently published volumes in relevant fields.Length not stated
- conference reportDetailed descriptions of recently held local or international conferences, scientific events, or scholarly summits in the field of aesthetics and the philosophy…main text ≤ 3,500 words · abstract ≤ 150 words
- conference reportsConference reports Detailed descriptions of recently held local or international conferences, scientific events, or scholarly summits in the field of aesthetics…Length not stated
- interviewsInterviews Portraits of the life and work of leading figures in contemporary aesthetic debates.Length not stated
- research articlesResearch articles Original contributions that initiate a debate, offer a point of view on current trends in aesthetics and the philosophy of art, or introduce a…Length not stated
- short essays and discussion piecesShort essays and discussion pieces Fresh and concise contributions on a specific topic in aesthetics.Length not stated
- surveySynoptic views of recent work in a particular area of the field of aesthetics (‘state-of-the-art’ articles). Authors are invited to either provide an encycloped…main text ≤ 7,500 words · abstract ≤ 150 words
- survey papersSurvey papers Synoptic views of recent work in a particular area of the field of aesthetics (‘state-of-the-art’ articles).Length not stated
- translationsTranslations Seminal essays by foreign scholars newly translated into Slovak and essays by Slovak and Czech authors newly translated into English.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
License: CC BY 4.0; authors remain copyright holders. Model summary
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0). Authors of articles published remain the copyright holders and grant third parties the right to use, reproduce, and share the article according to the Creative Commons license agreement. You are free to:Share — copy and redistribute the material in any medium or formatAdapt — remix, transform, and build upon …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
No APC or publication charges. Model summary
Note to the Authors: publishing a paper in Espes is free of any possible charges.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- University of Presov, Faculty of Arts
- Country or region
- Slovakia
- Language
- Czech, English, Slovak
- ISSN
- 1339-1119
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 15, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics
What CAS zone is ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics is in Zone 4 of Arts, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Art / Philosophy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Arts. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics?
Authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,500 words; Reference style: Author–date. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics open access, and what is the APC?
ESPES-The Slovak Journal of Aesthetics is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .