Journal profile · CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Epilepsy & Behavior Reports
ISSN 2589-9864 · Elsevier · United States
Epilepsy & Behavior Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.9 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,010; median 89 days to acceptance (104 articles, last 24 months); 92 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Epilepsy & Behavior Reports is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Epilepsy research and treatment, Pharmacological Effects and Toxicity Studies and Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, together about 50.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Epilepsy & Behavior Reports (EBR) is an online-only, open access journal devoted to the rapid publication of studies on the behavioral aspects of seizures and epilepsy. It is the proud companion title to Epilepsy & Behavior (Marco Mula, MD, PhD, Editor-in-Chief).EBR places special emphasis on articles that:Educate clinicians around the world regarding the best practices and clinical research for global epilepsy management of patients;Report cutting-edge multi-disciplinary science related to seizures and epilepsy (Basic and Translational Science);Educate readers about relevant and practical clinical outcomes in seizures and epilepsy (Outcome Research);Cite important observations that significantly add to previously-reported novel observations, or provide compelling illustrations of important clinical principles related to the care of patients (Case Reports); andSummarize or editorialize the current state of the literature (Reviews, Commentaries, and Editorials).EBR accepts most types of manuscripts for consideration including original research papers, case reports, case report series, short communications, reviews, letters to the editor, opinions and editorials. Topics considered will be from seizure- and epilepsy-related fields that are of interest to practicing physicians all over the world. Examples of recent topics include epilepsy and autoimmunity, brain function, neurostimulation, status epilepticus, alternative treatment options, biomarkers, psychopathology, detection and predictive methods, novel neuroimaging findings, functional seizures (psychogenic non-epileptic seizures), and EEG and video-EEG aspects.Topics are drawn from a variety of fields, including pediatric and adult neurology, neurosurgery, neuropsychiatry, neuropsychology, neurophysiology, neuropharmacology, histopathology and neuroimaging.All manuscripts submitted are peer reviewed and if accepted for publication, authors are notified of this decision and requested to pay an Article Processing Fee. Following payment of this fee, the article is made universally available to all on www.sciencedirect.com.At the discretion of the accepting Editor-in-Chief, and/or based on reviewer feedback, authors may be allowed flexibility with fewer or more words/graphics than standard guidelines.Contact details for submission For questions on the submission or reviewing process, please contact the Editorial Office prior to submission: EBCR@elsevier.com
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Editor-in-chief Jennifer HoppPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 41, India 4, Belgium 3, United Kingdom 2, Mainland China 1 (61 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Epilepsy research and treatmentMedicine32%
- Pharmacological Effects and Toxicity StudiesMedicine12%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience6.7%
- EEG and Brain-Computer InterfacesNeuroscience6.2%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine5.3%
- Psychosomatic Disorders and Their TreatmentsMedicine5.2%
- Genetics and Neurodevelopmental DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 24OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 95OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.83OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 10.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 92LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 561 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 56 | 56 | 3 |
| 2025 | 92 | 92 | 110 |
| 2024 | 97 | 97 | 336 |
| 2023 | 61 | 61 | 256 |
| 2022 | 59 | 59 | 517 |
| 2021 | 97 | 97 | 1,114 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
89 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 64 days – 133 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (104 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 90 days
- Sample
- 104 articles with submission and acceptance dates (168 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 33 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 27 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 73 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,010 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,630 / EUR 2,460 / GBP 2,110 / JPY 326,200 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,310 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,010 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- case reportFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …main text ≤ 2,500 words
- case reportsCase reports should be up to 2,500 words (excluding references), 25 references, 4 tables and/or figures.Length not stated
- editorialFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorialsEditorials (up to 1,000 words, 10 references, 1 table/figure)Length not stated
- full-length research papersFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Length not stated
- meta-analysisFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …Length not stated
- research paperFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …main text ≤ 5,000 words
- review articleFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …main text ≤ 8,000 words
- review articles and meta-analysesReview Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding references and up to 10 tables/figures)Length not stated
- short communicationFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review Articles and Meta-analyses (up to 8,000 words, excluding …main text ≤ 2,000 words
- short communicationsShort Communications (up to 2,000 words, 20 references, 2 tables/figures)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
open access Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2589-9864
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Epilepsy & Behavior Reports
What CAS zone is Epilepsy & Behavior Reports in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Epilepsy & Behavior Reports is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Epilepsy & Behavior Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.6, h-index 24.
How long does peer review take at Epilepsy & Behavior Reports?
Based on the dates recorded on 104 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 89 days (interquartile range 64–133 days); authors report an average review time of about 33 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Epilepsy & Behavior Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Epilepsy & Behavior Reports based?
Of the 61 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (41), India (4) and Belgium (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Epilepsy & Behavior Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Epilepsy & Behavior Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Epilepsy & Behavior Reports open access, and what is the APC?
Epilepsy & Behavior Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,010.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .