Journal profile · Engineering, Chemical
Energy & Environmental Science
ISSN 1754-5692 · eISSN 1754-5706 · Royal Society of Chemistry · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 2008
Energy & Environmental Science: CAS Zone 1 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 30.55; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 94 days to acceptance (24 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: 44%; 786 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Energy & Environmental Science is published by Royal Society of Chemistry and is in Zone 1 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advancements in Battery Materials, Advanced Battery Materials and Technologies and Advanced battery technologies research, together about 27.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Energy & Environmental Science publishes exceptionally important research tackling the key scientific and technological aspects of the global energy transition. We seek manuscripts that not only demonstrate high scientific rigour and innovation, but also have the potential to accelerate the global transformation to a sustainable energy future. More information on scopeWe welcome pioneering high-quality original research, precedential reviews, and thought-provoking perspectives & opinions covering but not limited to the following areas:Advanced materials for energy conversion and storageDevelopment of advanced materials and nanotechnology for applications in energy technology. Materials and devices in extreme environments relevant for energy applications. Renewable energy conversionResearch into materials and technologies for renewable electricity generation, including solar energy, photovoltaics, thermoelectrics, geothermals, photochemical, artificial photosynthesis, nanogenerators, energy harvesting and hybrid devices.Energy storageResearch into materials and technologies for energy storage including batteries, supercapacitors, hydrogen storage, fuel cells, mechanical, gravitational and thermal energy storage.Catalysis and renewable fuelsResearch into catalysis for low-carbon fuels such as hydrogen, ammonia, and other renewable liquid hydrocarbon fuels for hard-to-abate sectors. This includes electrocatalysis, photocatalysis, photoelectrochemistry, solar fuels, and catalytic processes for diverse sustainable feedstocks. Studies involving fossil-based feedstocks will only be considered where a clear, evidence-based pathway to net-zero or net-negative lifecycle emissions can be demonstrated.Carbon capture, removal, storage and useResearch on the energy impacts of carbon capture technologies, carbon dioxide removal (CDR) approaches, CO₂ utilisation, and carbon storage solutions. Emphasis on durability, scalability, lifecycle impacts, and integration with energy systems.Bioenergy and biorefineriesExploring biofuel production, biorefineries, and sustainable biomass usage for renewable energy sources.Modelling, simulation, and theoretical studiesResearch aimed at advancing energy science that employs computational modelling, simulation, and theoretical approaches, including AI and machine learning for materials discovery, system optimisation, and system modelling.Low-carbon energy systems and smart grid integrationResearch on integrating low-carbon energy techn
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Engineering, Chemical
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 25%); most named Mainland China 1, India 1, Spain 1, Australia 1 (4 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advancements in Battery MaterialsEngineering9.8%
- Advanced Battery Materials and TechnologiesEngineering8.7%
- Advanced battery technologies researchEngineering8.6%
- Electrocatalysts for Energy ConversionEnergy8.2%
- Perovskite Materials and ApplicationsEngineering7%
- Conducting polymers and applicationsMaterials Science5.7%
- Advanced Photocatalysis TechniquesEnergy5.3%
- Supercapacitor Materials and FabricationMaterials Science4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Multidisciplinary | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Energy & Fuels | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Engineering, Chemical | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Environmental Sciences | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Multidisciplinary | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Energy & Fuels | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Engineering, Chemical | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Environmental Sciences | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Materials Science Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Multidisciplinary | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Energy & Fuels | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Engineering, Chemical | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Environmental Sciences | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 30.55LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 30.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 42.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 9.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 3.44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 279LetPub ·
- h-index
- 525OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 6,502OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 31.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 23.03%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 650LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,434 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 488 | 186 | 1,436 |
| 2025 | 786 | 336 | 22,531 |
| 2024 | 841 | 328 | 43,587 |
| 2023 | 532 | 207 | 46,324 |
| 2022 | 429 | 144 | 45,967 |
| 2021 | 460 | 154 | 72,554 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 79 days – 143 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 9 days (24 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 118 days
- Sample
- 24 articles with submission and acceptance dates (27 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2.4 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 44%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Open peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | GBP 3,100 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 50–250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 10,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- analysis articlesThe purpose of Analysis articles is to quantitatively analyse technologies and technological systems.Length not stated
- commentsEnergy & Environmental Science publishes: Communications Full papers Reviews (see panel) Perspectives (see panel) Minireviews (see panel) Opinions Analysis arti…Length not stated
- communicationsCommunications will not normally exceed the length of four printed journal pagesLength not stated
- full papersFull papers contain original scientific work that has not been published previously.Length not stated
- minireviewsMinireviews are shorter, more focused accounts of important new fields of research. They are typically up to 3,000 words in length.Length not stated
- opinionOpinions present an author’s personal perspective on a frontier topic of energy science or technology, highlighting ideas, challenges, or new opportunities that…main text ≤ 3,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 4
- opinionsOpinions present an author’s personal perspective on a frontier topic of energy science or technologyLength not stated
- perspectivew unpublished research may be included. Perspectives normally comprise 5,000 to 10,000 words of text, together with supporting figures and tables. Minirmain text ≤ 10,000 words
- perspectivesPerspectives present an authoritative state-of-the-art account of a research field.Length not stated
- reviewWe welcome direct submissions of review articles to our journal from members of the research community. If you would like to check whether your Review-type arti…main text ≤ 10,000 words
- reviewsReview articles normally comprise 10,000 or more words of text, together with supporting figures and tables.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Code availability, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Include full names and affiliations for all authors. Everyone who made a significant contribution to the conception, design or implementation of the work should be listed as co-authors. The corresponding author has the responsibility to include all (and only) co-authors. The corresponding author also signs a copyright licence on behalf of all the authors. If there are more than 10 co-authors on th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Code availability
RSC author code of conduct applies Model summary
Authors may adopt a controversial viewpoint; however, such perspectives should be expressed constructively and in accordance with the RSC author code of conduct.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of interest
In accordance with our policy on Conflicts of interest please ensure that a conflicts of interest statement is included in your manuscript. This statement is required for all submitted manuscripts. If no conflicts exist, please state that ‘There are no conflicts to declare’.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data availability statement required for all articles Model summary
A data availability statement (DAS) is required to be submitted alongside all articles. Please see the submit section of these guidelines for more details and examples of suitable statements you can use.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Using images and copyright
Any images that are used should be numerically referenced in the figure caption. If your work is solely for your course, and will not be published publicly, you don’t need to obtain copyright permission. If you are preparing an article to be published you will have to obtain copyright permission. The publisher/copyright owner of the image will need to be contacted and asked for their process for r…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing options
Gold open access For authors who want to publish their article gold open access, our article processing charge (APC) of £3,100 (+ any applicable tax) is applied. Our APC is all-inclusive and makes your article freely available online immediately, permanently, and includes your choice of Creative Commons licence (CC BY or CC BY-NC) at no extra cost. It is not a submission charge, so you only pay if…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Transparent peer review
Transparent peer review available as opt-in Model summary
In the interest of transparency and open science, transparent peer review is where the editor’s decision letter, reviewers’ comments and authors’ response for all versions of the manuscript are published alongside the article under an Open Access Creative Commons licence (CC-BY) . You can see some examples here: Transparent peer review example oneTransparent peer review example twoTransparent peer…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint servers (for example, ChemRxiv, arXiv)
ChemRxiv & bioRxiv: The citation should include the author(s), the name of the preprint server, the year, the word “preprint” and the DOI (including version number). S. Bhattacharjee, S. P. Chaudhary and S. Bhattacharyya, ChemRxiv, 2019, preprint, DOI: 10.26434/chemrxiv.9794270.v1 arXiv: The citation should include the author(s), the name of the preprint server, the year, the article number and th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 2008
- ISSN
- 1754-5692
- Electronic ISSN
- 1754-5706
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Energy & Environmental Science
What CAS zone is Energy & Environmental Science in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Energy & Environmental Science is in Zone 1 of Materials Science, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Chemistry, Multidisciplinary / Energy & Fuels / Engineering, Chemical / Environmental Sciences; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Energy & Environmental Science?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 30.55; CiteScore 42.6, h-index 525.
How long does peer review take at Energy & Environmental Science?
Based on the dates recorded on 24 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 79–143 days); authors report an average review time of about 2.4 months; the community-reported acceptance is “44%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Energy & Environmental Science?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 50–250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Energy & Environmental Science based?
Of the 4 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 25%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (1), India (1) and Spain (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Energy & Environmental Science?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Energy & Environmental Science is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Energy & Environmental Science open access, and what is the APC?
Energy & Environmental Science is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .