Journal profile · Multiple
Emerging Markets Review
ISSN 1566-0141 · eISSN 1873-6173 · Elsevier
Emerging Markets Review: CAS Zone 2 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 4.39; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,060; review about 297 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 143 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Emerging Markets Review is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 2 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Corporate Finance and Governance, Financial Markets and Investment Strategies and Banking stability, regulation, efficiency, together about 33.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Finance and Accounting. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The intent of the editors is to consolidate Emerging Markets Review as the premier vehicle for publishing high impact empirical and theoretical studies in emerging markets finance. Preference will be given to comparative studies that take global and regional perspectives, detailed single country studies that address critical policy issues and have significant global and regional implications, and papers that address the interactions of national and international financial architecture. We especially welcome papers that take institutional as well as financial perspectives.Published papers are expected to include a discussion of next steps and possible extensions for further research in the conclusion section.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Rose C. LiaoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 12%); most named United States 21, Mainland China 6, Australia 6, United Kingdom 2, Canada 2 (52 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Corporate Finance and GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting14.3%
- Financial Markets and Investment StrategiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance9.6%
- Banking stability, regulation, efficiencyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance9.6%
- Market Dynamics and VolatilityEconomics, Econometrics and Finance8.5%
- Global Financial Crisis and PoliciesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7.8%
- Monetary Policy and Economic ImpactEconomics, Econometrics and Finance6.8%
- Auditing, Earnings Management, GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting3.9%
- Financial Risk and Volatility ModelingEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business, Finance | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Economics Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business, Finance | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Economics Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business, Finance | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.39LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 7.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.12LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.61LetPub ·
- h-index
- 106OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 788OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.92OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 16.72%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 128LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,370 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 99 | 45 | 25 |
| 2025 | 143 | 28 | 354 |
| 2024 | 110 | 30 | 1,001 |
| 2023 | 74 | 21 | 1,191 |
| 2022 | 83 | 21 | 1,480 |
| 2021 | 59 | 10 | 2,407 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
297 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Submission to first decision
- 24 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 84 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 297 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,060 / EUR 2,860 / GBP 2,450 / JPY 379,530 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,020 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 150
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
Article types accepted3, with length limits
- perspectivePerspectives are short papers - articles limited to 4000 words - that present original and forward-looking ideas on key economic and market developments. Perspe…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- perspectivesPerspectives are short papers - articles limited to 4000 words - that present original and forward-looking ideas on key economic and market developments.Length not stated
- short communicationPerspectives are short papers - articles limited to 4000 words - that present original and forward-looking ideas on key economic and market developments. Perspe…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Submission fee of US$ 150 Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1566-0141
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-6173
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Emerging Markets Review
What CAS zone is Emerging Markets Review in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Emerging Markets Review is in Zone 2 of Economics, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Business, Finance / Economics; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Economics. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Emerging Markets Review?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.39; CiteScore 7.8, h-index 106.
How long does peer review take at Emerging Markets Review?
The publisher reports about 297 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Emerging Markets Review?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Emerging Markets Review based?
Of the 52 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 12%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (21), Mainland China (6) and Australia (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Emerging Markets Review?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Emerging Markets Review is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Emerging Markets Review open access, and what is the APC?
Emerging Markets Review is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,060.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .