Journal profile · Multiple
EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry
ISSN 2365-421X · SpringerOpen · United Kingdom
EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.7 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,290; median 52 days to acceptance (105 articles, last 24 months); 91 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry is published by SpringerOpen and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry and Applications, Medical Imaging Techniques and Applications and Peptidase Inhibition and Analysis, together about 55.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry publishes new research in the field of development of new imaging and radionuclide-based therapeutic agents for application in nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. The journal provides a platform for chemists, pharmacists, biologists and basic scientists to present their views and scientific work. In addition, the journal provides insight into novel concepts of imaging or radionuclide-based therapeutic agent applications of relevance for the whole molecular imaging community. The journal reports original research articles, review papers, guidelines on the application of imaging or radionuclide therapy agents, editorials, and letters to the editor. Research articles on novel production methods of radionuclides, novel radiochemistry, new radiopharmaceuticals including their first biological evaluation, molecular imaging agents including optical imaging, MRI, and hybrid probes, are the main focus of the journal. To foster daily practice in the community the journal stimulates submission regarding best practice and harmonization of methodologies. To translate imaging and radionuclide therapy agents to the clinic, legislative issues related to their production and safety can be presented as well in the form of guidelines or position papers. To further serve the community the journal publishes abstracts of radiopharmaceutical-oriented congresses.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Philip H. ElsingaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 10 in mainland China (about 11%); most named Netherlands 12, Mainland China 10, United States 8, Canada 7, Germany 6 (88 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Radiopharmaceutical Chemistry and ApplicationsMedicine32.5%
- Medical Imaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine14%
- Peptidase Inhibition and AnalysisMedicine8.9%
- Prostate Cancer Treatment and ResearchMedicine4.6%
- Radioactive Decay and Measurement TechniquesPhysics and Astronomy4.2%
- Chemical Reactions and IsotopesPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics3.7%
- Neuroendocrine Tumor Research AdvancesMedicine3.6%
- Medical Imaging and Pathology StudiesMedicine2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Medicinal | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Medicinal | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.75LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.02LetPub ·
- h-index
- 41OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 164OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 10.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 88LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 514,500Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 493 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 85 | 85 | 23 |
| 2025 | 91 | 91 | 257 |
| 2024 | 94 | 94 | 800 |
| 2023 | 43 | 43 | 411 |
| 2022 | 33 | 33 | 613 |
| 2021 | 38 | 38 | 1,135 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
52 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 40 days – 71 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 15 days (105 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 70 days
- Sample
- 105 articles with submission and acceptance dates (197 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 5 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 5 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 1,990 / USD 2,290 / GBP 1,590 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,290 / EUR 1,990 / GBP 1,590 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,490 / USD 2,190 / EUR 1,890 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,590 / USD 2,290 / EUR 1,990 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers3, by deadline
Publisher websiteArticle types accepted8
- debatesResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- guideline articlesResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- letters to the editorResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- methodology articlesResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- position papersResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- research articlesResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- reviewsResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
- short communicationsResearch Articles Debates Guideline Articles Letters to the Editor Methodology Articles Reviews Position Papers Short CommunicationsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SpringerOpen
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2365-421X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry
What CAS zone is EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear / Chemistry, Medicinal / Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.3, h-index 41.
How long does peer review take at EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry?
Based on the dates recorded on 105 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 52 days (interquartile range 40–71 days); authors report an average review time of about 5 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry based?
Of the 88 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 10 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Netherlands (12), Mainland China (10) and United States (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry open access, and what is the APC?
EJNMMI Radiopharmacy and Chemistry is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,290.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .