Journal profile
Discourse and WritingRedactologie
ISSN 2563-7320 · Canadian Association for the Study of Discourse and Writing · Canada
Discourse and WritingRedactologie: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 8 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Discourse and WritingRedactologie is published by Canadian Association for the Study of Discourse and Writing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Discourse Analysis in Language Studies, Linguistics and Discourse Analysis and Academic Writing and Publishing, together about 56% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
DW/R aims to promote all approaches to writing and discourse research within all disciplines. The journal publishes papers that focus on the context of academic writing and discourse in professional settings and post-secondary education. Papers focusing on any research methodology are welcome, including theoretical discussions, quantitative and statistical approaches, qualitative approaches, and textual analyses.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Discourse Analysis in Language StudiesArts and Humanities28.6%
- Linguistics and Discourse AnalysisArts and Humanities15.1%
- Academic Writing and PublishingArts and Humanities12.3%
- Linguistics and Education ResearchArts and Humanities9.6%
- Language, Communication, and Linguistic StudiesSocial Sciences3.6%
- Rhetoric and Communication StudiesArts and Humanities3.3%
- EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities2.9%
- Publishing and Scholarly CommunicationArts and Humanities2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.56OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 629 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 10 | 52 |
| 2025 | 8 | 8 | 37 |
| 2024 | 14 | 14 | 60 |
| 2023 | 9 | 9 | 70 |
| 2022 | 40 | 40 | 84 |
| 2021 | 16 | 16 | 94 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-SA | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 100–200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 9,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted4, with length limits
- major articlesMajor Articles (7,000–9,000 words): Papers submitted as major articles should clearly advance knowledge in discourse or writing studies in any context and/or di…Length not stated
- reviewor the Writing in Practice section, and Reviews: Major Articles (7,000–9,000 words): Papers submitted as major articles should clearly advancemain text ≤ 9,000 words
- reviewsReviews (1,000-2,000 words): DW/R aims to publish English and French reviews of books, websites, and other texts in the areas of writing and discourse studies/r…Length not stated
- writing in practiceWriting in Practice (2,000–3,000 words): These are short articles describing strategies for using writing pedagogically in higher education.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright, Peer review, Plagiarism, Self-archiving
- AI use
AI/LLM use prohibited for writing any portion of the paper; allowed for formatting only. Model summary
The author warrants that no LLM, chatbot, or other AI application has been used to write any portion of the paper, though such tools may be used for formatting only.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Authors retain copyright and publishing rights. Model summary
If this article is selected for publication in Discourse and Writing/Rédactologie, the work shall be published electronically under the terms of Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA 4.0). This license allows users to adapt and build upon the published work, but requires them to attribute the original publication and to license their derivative works under the same terms. There is no f…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review after editorial screening for article submissions. Model summary
After screening by the editors, all article submissions will go through a standard double-blind review process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Original work only; preprints allowed if marked; not under consideration elsewhere. Model summary
The author warrants that the work has not been previously published, either in print or electronically, except as a marked preprint, and that it is not currently under consideration by any other publisher.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Green open access: all versions may be deposited in repositories. Model summary
Authors are permitted to deposit all versions of their paper in an institutional or subject repository.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Canadian Association for the Study of Discourse and Writing
- Country or region
- Canada
- Language
- English, French
- ISSN
- 2563-7320
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 35 (2025)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Discourse and WritingRedactologie
How long does peer review take at Discourse and WritingRedactologie?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Discourse and WritingRedactologie?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–200 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 9,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Discourse and WritingRedactologie?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Discourse and WritingRedactologie is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Discourse and WritingRedactologie open access, and what is the APC?
Discourse and WritingRedactologie is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .