Journal profile · Infectious Diseases
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease
ISSN 0732-8893 · eISSN 1879-0070 · Elsevier Inc. · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1983
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.82; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,290; median 82 days to acceptance (98 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 477 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Antibiotic Resistance in Bacteria, Bacterial Identification and Susceptibility Testing and Antimicrobial Resistance in Staphylococcus, together about 32.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease provides up to date and extensive articles on clinical microbiology.Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease aims to publish latest developments in clinical microbiology and the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases. It publishes articles on studies in bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, immunology related to infections, immunoserology.Submissions on new procedures, unusual cases, controversial issues, and important new literature. are particularly welcomed.The journal publishes topics including:Informed commentaries on new antibioticsRapid and cost-effective methods in the laboratoryInstructive case studies with emphasis on complex circumstancesInsightful editorials on important current issuesBook reviews that keep you up-to-date on recently published literatureLaboratory and clinical management of microbial diseasesEpidemiology and pathogenesis of infectionsAutomation in the diagnostic microbiology laboratoryAntibiotic susceptibility testing
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Infectious Diseases
Editor-in-chief Adriana CalderaroPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 4 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United States 13, Italy 5, Mainland China 4, Japan 3, India 2 (36 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Antibiotic Resistance in BacteriaBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology12.8%
- Bacterial Identification and Susceptibility TestingBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology11%
- Antimicrobial Resistance in StaphylococcusMedicine8.6%
- Antibiotics Pharmacokinetics and EfficacyMedicine7.8%
- Pneumonia and Respiratory InfectionsMedicine6.2%
- Antifungal resistance and susceptibilityMedicine4.7%
- Mycobacterium research and diagnosisMedicine4.4%
- Streptococcal Infections and TreatmentsMedicine4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Infectious Diseases | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microbiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Infectious Diseases | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microbiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Infectious Diseases | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Microbiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.82LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.55LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 88LetPub ·
- h-index
- 126OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,854OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 25.05%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 438LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,539 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 362 | 99 | 98 |
| 2025 | 477 | 120 | 809 |
| 2024 | 408 | 147 | 1,516 |
| 2023 | 188 | 71 | 1,193 |
| 2022 | 146 | 85 | 1,229 |
| 2021 | 217 | 113 | 2,447 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
82 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 59 days – 111 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (98 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 83 days
- Sample
- 98 articles with submission and acceptance dates (981 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 30 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 69 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,290 / EUR 3,080 / GBP 2,630 / JPY 408,060 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,110 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Optional
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- case reportPapers may be submitted that are full-length articles (including subject review articles 3000-word limit)), short communications, case report (1250 word limit),…Length not stated
- full-length articlesPapers may be submitted that are full-length articles (including subject review articles 3000-word limit))Length not stated
- letter to the editorPapers may be submitted that are full-length articles (including subject review articles 3000-word limit)), short communications, case report (1250 word limit),…Length not stated
- review articlePapers may be submitted that are full-length articles (including subject review articles 3000-word limit)), short communications, case report (1250 word limit),…main text ≤ 1,250 words
- review articlesReview articles on specific topics included in the journal scope may be submitted.Length not stated
- short communicationPapers may be submitted that are full-length articles (including subject review articles 3000-word limit)), short communications, case report (1250 word limit),…Length not stated
- short communicationsshort communications, case report (1250 word limit), letter to the editor (500 word limit)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1983
- ISSN
- 0732-8893
- Electronic ISSN
- 1879-0070
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease
What CAS zone is Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Infectious Diseases / Microbiology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.82; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 126.
How long does peer review take at Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease?
Based on the dates recorded on 98 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 82 days (interquartile range 59–111 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease based?
Of the 36 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 4 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), Italy (5) and Mainland China (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease open access, and what is the APC?
Diagnostic Microbiology and Infectious Disease is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,290.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .