Journal profile · ENDOCRINOLOGY & METABOLISM
Diabetology International
ISSN 2190-1678 · eISSN 2190-1686 · Springer Nature · 4 issues per year
Diabetology International: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.1 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,590; median 104 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); 80 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Diabetology International is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diabetes Management and Research, Diabetes Treatment and Management and Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins, together about 40.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Diabetology International, the official journal of the Japan Diabetes Society, publishes original research articles about experimental research and clinical studies in diabetes and related areas. The journal also presents editorials, reviews, commentaries, reports of expert committees, and case reports on any aspect of diabetes. Diabetology International welcomes submissions from researchers, clinicians, and health professionals throughout the world who are interested in research, treatment, and care of patients with diabetes.All manuscripts are peer-reviewed to assure that high-quality information in the field of diabetes is made available to readers. Manuscripts are reviewed with due respect for the author's confidentiality. At the same time, reviewers also have rights to confidentiality, which are respected by the editors. The journal follows a single-blind review procedure, where the reviewers are aware of the names and affiliations of the authors, but the reviewer reports provided to authors are anonymous. Single-blind peer review is the traditional model of peer review that many reviewers are comfortable with, and it facilitates a dispassionate critique of a manuscript.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ENDOCRINOLOGY & METABOLISM
Editor-in-chief Wataru OgawaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Japan 49, United States 5, South Korea 1, Canada 1, Australia 1 (59 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diabetes Management and ResearchMedicine15.8%
- Diabetes Treatment and ManagementMedicine15.2%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine9.4%
- Diabetes and associated disordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology9.2%
- Pancreatic function and diabetesMedicine8.4%
- Metabolism, Diabetes, and CancerBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.2%
- Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine4.8%
- Hyperglycemia and glycemic control in critically ill and hospitalized patientsMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbasePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.1Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.5LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.46LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- h-index
- 38OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 199OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.02OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 11.64%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 77LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 148,200Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 925 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 64 | 64 | 14 |
| 2025 | 80 | 80 | 138 |
| 2024 | 104 | 103 | 350 |
| 2023 | 63 | 63 | 192 |
| 2022 | 51 | 51 | 406 |
| 2021 | 82 | 82 | 737 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
104 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 75 days – 149 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 25 days (97 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 132 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (173 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 18 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,590 / EUR 2,990 / GBP 2,590 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 12,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8
- case reportsCase reports: The text should not exceed 5 printed pages (approx. 3,600 words) including references with no more than two figures or tables (i.e., two figures o…Length not stated
- commentariesCommentaries: Generally, the text should not exceed 3 printed pages (approx. 2,400 words).Length not stated
- editorial"Diabetology International", the official journal of the Japan Diabetes Society, publishes original research articles about experimental research and clinical s…Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials: As a general rule, the text should be 1 to 2 printed pages (approx. 800–1,600 words).Length not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the Editor: The text should not exceed 500 words and may not include figures or tables; submissions are limited to scholarly opinions on articles publ…Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles: The text should not exceed 10 printed pages (approx. 8,000 words) including references, figures and tables.Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles: The text should not exceed 15 printed pages (approx. 12,000 words) including references, figures and tables.Length not stated
- short communicationsShort Communications: The text should not exceed 4 printed pages (approx. 3,200 words) including references, figures and tables.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship principles
4 to 6 keywords required Model summary
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest Policy
When authors submit a manuscript, they are responsible for disclosing all financial and personal relationships that might bias their work. To prevent ambiguity, authors must state explicitly whether potential conflicts do or do not exist. Each author must complete and submit a Conflict of interest form, and the corresponding author should submit all the Conflict of interest forms when submitting a…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data and materials transparency Model summary
All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
Adopts ICMJE Uniform Requirements Model summary
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Permission required for previously published material Model summary
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Diabetology International, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review process
Single-blind peer review Model summary
This journal uses a single-blind peer review system, conducting reviews in accordance with international guidelines, such as those of COPE and ICMJE. Manuscripts must be submitted via the online submission system, and each submission is assigned a unique identifier. Initially, the Editorial Office and Editor-in-Chief screen manuscripts to ensure they comply with the journal’s submission guidelines…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint sharing
Preprint sharing allowed with disclosure of DOI and licensing terms Model summary
For authors who post their manuscripts on a preprint server, please follow the guideline available here: https://www.springer.com/jp/editorial-policies/preprint-sharing. Authors should disclose the details of preprint posting, including the DOI and licensing terms, upon submission of the manuscript in the cover letters. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 4 issues per year
- ISSN
- 2190-1678
- Electronic ISSN
- 2190-1686
- Society / sponsor
- Japan Diabetes Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Diabetology International
What CAS zone is Diabetology International in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Diabetology International is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Endocrinology & Metabolism. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Diabetology International?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.1 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.5, h-index 38.
How long does peer review take at Diabetology International?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 104 days (interquartile range 75–149 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Diabetology International?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 12,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Diabetology International based?
Of the 59 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Japan (49), United States (5) and South Korea (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Diabetology International?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Diabetology International is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Diabetology International open access, and what is the APC?
Diabetology International is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,590.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .