Journal profile · Dermatology
Dermatologic Clinics
ISSN 0733-8635 · eISSN 1558-0520 · W.B. Saunders Ltd · UNITED STATES · Quarterly · Founded 1983
Dermatologic Clinics: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.29; subscription journal; APC about USD 3,400; review 6–12 weeks (community reports); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 76 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Dermatologic Clinics is published by W.B. Saunders Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Autoimmune Bullous Skin Diseases, Cutaneous Melanoma Detection and Management and Dermatologic Treatments and Research, together about 21.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Dermatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Dermatologic Clinics brings you the most practical and comprehensive information on the treatment and care of skin disorders, complete with photos, drawings, and diagrams to illustrate points and demonstrate techniques. Published quarterly—in January, April, July, and October—each issue is devoted to a single timely topic related to clinical dermatology, including hair disorders, pediatric dermatology, autoinflammatory disorders, contact dermatitis, and more. From evaluation to treatment, Dermatologic Clinics covers what is most relevant to you in your practice.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Dermatology
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 3 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine8.6%
- Cutaneous Melanoma Detection and ManagementMedicine6.7%
- Dermatologic Treatments and ResearchMedicine6.4%
- Nail Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine6.3%
- Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders researchMedicine6.3%
- Dermatology and Skin DiseasesMedicine6%
- Skin Protection and AgingMedicine5.7%
- Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer StudiesMedicine5.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.29LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.84LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.33LetPub ·
- h-index
- 62LetPub ·
- h-index
- 110OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,001OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.29OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 2.4%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 53LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,540 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 60 | 3 | 7 |
| 2025 | 76 | 4 | 121 |
| 2024 | 70 | 7 | 343 |
| 2023 | 94 | 9 | 674 |
| 2022 | 80 | 4 | 737 |
| 2021 | 78 | 20 | 946 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,400 / EUR 2,980 / GBP 2,670 / JPY 365,390 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- clinics and advances review articlesClinics and Advances Review Articles include Medical, Surgical, Dental, Nursing, and Veterinary Medicine periodicals that review the current state of the practi…Length not stated
- reviewThe Clinics and Advances review article journals publish high-quality, invited review content on a bi-monthly, quarterly or annual basis. Each journal’s editori…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
Authorship Model summary
By adhering to the authorship requirements stated above, authors meet the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) criteria [updated version January 2024] on authorship.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Ethics in publishing Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Submission declaration Model summary
When authors submit an article to an Elsevier journal it is implied that: The work described has not been published previously except in the form of a preprint, an abstract, a published lecture, academic thesis or registered report.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- W.B. Saunders Ltd
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Quarterly
- Founded
- 1983
- ISSN
- 0733-8635
- Electronic ISSN
- 1558-0520
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Dermatologic Clinics
What CAS zone is Dermatologic Clinics in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Dermatologic Clinics is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Dermatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Dermatologic Clinics?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.29; CiteScore 4.7, h-index 110.
How long does peer review take at Dermatologic Clinics?
Authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Dermatologic Clinics based?
Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Dermatologic Clinics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Dermatologic Clinics is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Dermatologic Clinics open access, and what is the APC?
Dermatologic Clinics is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,400.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .