Journal profile · Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine

Dental Traumatology

ISSN 1600-4469 · eISSN 1600-9657 · Blackwell Munksgaard · DENMARK · Bimonthly · Founded 2001

Dental Traumatology: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.77; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,330; median 94 days to acceptance (82 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 119 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor4.77Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 82 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 4,330Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year1192025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Dental Traumatology is published by Blackwell Munksgaard and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dental Trauma and Treatments, Endodontics and Root Canal Treatments and Dental Radiography and Imaging, together about 49.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Dental Traumatology aims to be the most prestigious international journal in the field of dental trauma. It covers the following dental trauma related topics: Epidemiology, Social Aspects, Education, Diagnostics Esthetics / Prosthetics/ Restorative Evidence Based Traumatology & Study Design Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery/Transplant/Implant Pediatrics and Orthodontics Prevention and Sports Dentistry Endodontics and Periodontal Aspects The journal publishes original scientific papers, review articles in the form of comprehensive reviews or mini reviews, relevant case reports and short communications about clinical methods and techniques. The language of the journal is English. The journal is published bimonthly.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 13, Brazil 8, Canada 6, Australia 6, Chile 4 (67 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Dental Trauma and TreatmentsHealth Professions28.2%
  2. Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry12.9%
  3. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry7.9%
  4. Injury Epidemiology and PreventionMedicine7.8%
  5. Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine6.1%
  6. dental development and anomaliesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.7%
  7. Dental materials and restorationsDentistry4.9%
  8. Traumatic Ocular and Foreign Body InjuriesMedicine3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEPubMedCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: EBSCO

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
4.77LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
4.8Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
4.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.5LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
6.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
6.5Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.93LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.7LetPub ·
h-index
74LetPub ·
h-index
139OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2,125OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.37OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
45.8%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
36.49%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
95LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
103Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
809,710Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,481 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026885338
202511970417
2024120791,301
2023119751,312
202295351,022
20218415824

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 65 days – 126 days

Acceptance to online
median 16 days (87 articles)
Submission to online
median 112 days
Sample
82 articles with submission and acceptance dates (234 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
6–12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
20%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
20%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
4 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
100 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
13 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,330 / EUR 3,620 / GBP 2,900——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 300 words
Keywords
≥ 3
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Cover letter
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted5
  1. case reportsCase Reports: Dental Traumatology may accept Case Reports that illustrate unusual and clinically relevant observations or management.Length not stated
  2. original research articleOriginal Research Articles in all areas related to adult and pediatric dental traumatology are of interest to Dental Traumatology. Examples of such areas are Ep…Length not stated
  3. original research articlesOriginal Research Articles in all areas related to adult and pediatric dental traumatology are of interest to Dental Traumatology.Length not stated
  4. review papersReview Papers: Dental Traumatology commissions specific topical review papers and mini reviews of small areas of interest. The journal also welcomes uninvited r…Length not stated
  5. short communicationsShort Communications of 1-2 pages may be accepted for publication.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review, Preprints
Authorship Authorship

Please refer to the journal’s authorship policy the Editorial Policies and Ethical Considerations section for details on eligibility for author listing.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest Statement

Authors will be asked to provide a conflict of interest statement during the submission process. For details on what to include in this section, see the section ‘Conflict of Interest’ in the Editorial Policies and Ethical Considerations section below. Submitting authors should ensure they liaise with all co-authors to confirm agreement with the final statement.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Publication Ethics

COPE member Model summary

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Note this journal uses iThenticate’s CrossCheck software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts. Read Wiley'sTop 10 Publishing Ethics Tips for Authors here. Wiley’s Publication Ethics Guidelines can be found here.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material

If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is the author’s responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ at http://exchanges.wiley.com/authors/faqs---copyright-terms--conditions_301.html

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review and Acceptance

Double-blind peer review Model summary

The acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to journal readership. Manuscripts are double-blind peer reviewed, hence, the names of the reviewers will not be disclosed to the author(s) who have submitted the paper and the name(s) of the author(s) will not be disclosed to the reviewers.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints

Free format submission Model summary

Dental Traumatology now offers Free Format submission for a simplified and streamlined submission process.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Blackwell Munksgaard
Country or region
DENMARK
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
2001
ISSN
1600-4469
Electronic ISSN
1600-9657
Society / sponsor
International Association of Dental Traumatology and the Academy for Sports Dentistry
Latest issue on the website
Volume 42, Issue 5 (October 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Dental Traumatology

What CAS zone is Dental Traumatology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Dental Traumatology is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Dental Traumatology?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.77; CiteScore 6.5, h-index 139.

How long does peer review take at Dental Traumatology?

Based on the dates recorded on 82 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 65–126 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 20% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Dental Traumatology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Dental Traumatology based?

Of the 67 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), Brazil (8) and Canada (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Dental Traumatology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Dental Traumatology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Dental Traumatology open access, and what is the APC?

Dental Traumatology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,330.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .