Journal profile · Materials Science, Biomaterials
Dental Materials
ISSN 0109-5641 · eISSN 1879-0097 · Elsevier Science · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1985
Dental Materials: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 6.15; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,560; median 131 days to acceptance (128 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 703 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Dental Materials is published by Elsevier Science and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dental materials and restorations, Dental Erosion and Treatment and Endodontics and Root Canal Treatments, together about 53% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Publication of the Academy of Dental MaterialsOnline submission and editorial system now available here.Dental Materials publishes original research and review articles.Academy of Dental Materials members click here to register for free access to Dental Materials online.The principal aim of Dental Materials is to promote rapid communication of scientific information between academia, industry, and the dental practitioner. Original Manuscripts on clinical and laboratory research of basic and applied character which focus on the properties or performance of dental materials or the reaction of host tissues to materials are given priority publication. Other acceptable topics include application technology in clinical dentistry and dental laboratory technology.Comprehensive reviews and editorial commentaries on pertinent subjects will be considered.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Materials Science, Biomaterials
Editor-in-chief Jack L. FerracanePublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 13, Germany 11, United Kingdom 8, Brazil 4, Italy 3 (57 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dental materials and restorationsDentistry30.5%
- Dental Erosion and TreatmentDentistry11.8%
- Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry10.7%
- Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry6.2%
- Bone Tissue Engineering MaterialsEngineering5.6%
- Dental Health and Care UtilizationDentistry4.6%
- Dental Research and COVID-19Dentistry2.8%
- Advanced ceramic materials synthesisMaterials Science2.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 6.15LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 6.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 10.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 10.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.56LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.87LetPub ·
- h-index
- 132LetPub ·
- h-index
- 232OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,623OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.77OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 38.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 155LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,133 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 338 | 103 | 86 |
| 2025 | 703 | 147 | 781 |
| 2024 | 222 | 137 | 2,634 |
| 2023 | 349 | 89 | 3,280 |
| 2022 | 290 | 86 | 4,808 |
| 2021 | 225 | 106 | 6,342 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
131 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 97 days – 171 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 6 days (128 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 139 days
- Sample
- 128 articles with submission and acceptance dates (459 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- First decision after review
- 48 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 127 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,560 / EUR 4,270 / GBP 3,650 / JPY 565,580 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
Article types accepted6
- hypothesisSubmitted manuscripts must relate directly to both Materials Science and Dentistry. The journal is principally for publication of Original Research Reports, whi…Length not stated
- original researchSubmitted manuscripts must relate directly to both Materials Science and Dentistry. The journal is principally for publication of Original Research Reports, whi…Length not stated
- original research reportsThe journal is principally for publication of Original Research Reports, which should preferably investigate a defined hypothesis. Maximum length 6 journal page…Length not stated
- reviewSubmitted manuscripts must relate directly to both Materials Science and Dentistry. The journal is principally for publication of Original Research Reports, whi…Length not stated
- reviewsDental Materials publishes a limited number of narrative and/or systematic reviews. In general, only reviews directly solicited by the Editor will be considered…Length not stated
- systematic reviewSubmitted manuscripts must relate directly to both Materials Science and Dentistry. The journal is principally for publication of Original Research Reports, whi…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Science
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1985
- ISSN
- 0109-5641
- Electronic ISSN
- 1879-0097
- Society / sponsor
- Academy of Dental Materials
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Dental Materials
What CAS zone is Dental Materials in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Dental Materials is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine / Materials Science, Biomaterials; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Dental Materials?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6.15; CiteScore 10.9, h-index 232.
How long does peer review take at Dental Materials?
Based on the dates recorded on 128 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 131 days (interquartile range 97–171 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Dental Materials?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Dental Materials based?
Of the 57 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), Germany (11) and United Kingdom (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Dental Materials?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Dental Materials is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Dental Materials open access, and what is the APC?
Dental Materials is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,560.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .