Journal profile · Multiple
Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy
ISSN 1540-3009 · eISSN 1569-7274 · Springer Nature · 4 issues per year
Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy: CAS Zone 3 · Philosophy (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.7 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,190; 52 articles in 2025; indexed in AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 3 of Philosophy in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Chinese history and philosophy, Japanese History and Culture and Indian and Buddhist Studies, together about 63.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Dao: A Journal of Comparative Philosophy directly relates Chinese philosophy to other philosophical traditions, covering all subfields of philosophy. Most uniquely, Dao does not only focus on the comparison of Chinese and Western philosophy; it also publishes articles on the relation between Chinese philosophy and other Asian philosophies – such as Indian, Japanese, and Korean philosophy - and between Chinese philosophy and African and Islamic philosophy. Dao is thus a truly international and multicultural journal, which is also reflected by the various nationalities of the board members and the contributors to the journal.In addition to high-quality research articles on comparative philosophy and articles on its theories and methodologies, Dao also publishes book reviews in the area of Chinese and comparative philosophy. Dao is in fact the only journal that regularly publishes reviews of books in Chinese, as well as full-length articles reviewing works of contemporary philosophers in China.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Huang YongPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 8 in mainland China (about 22%); most named United States 13, Mainland China 8, Macau, China 2, Singapore 2, Hong Kong, China 1 (36 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Chinese history and philosophySocial Sciences50.2%
- Japanese History and CultureSocial Sciences8.2%
- Indian and Buddhist StudiesArts and Humanities5.3%
- China's Socioeconomic Reforms and GovernanceSocial Sciences4.1%
- Cultural Differences and ValuesPsychology4%
- Environmental and Cultural Studies in Latin America and BeyondEnvironmental Science3.9%
- Emotions and Moral BehaviorPsychology3%
- Psychology of Moral and Emotional JudgmentNeuroscience2.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Philosophy Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Asian Studies | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Philosophy | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Philosophy Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Asian Studies | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Philosophy | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Philosophy Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Philosophy | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Asian Studies | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Philosophy | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
AHCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Current ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.18LetPub ·
- h-index
- 32OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 147OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.44OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 14.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 22.58%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 30LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 52,400Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,197 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 41 | 7 | 3 |
| 2025 | 52 | 14 | 11 |
| 2024 | 60 | 13 | 53 |
| 2023 | 58 | 8 | 58 |
| 2022 | 52 | 7 | 74 |
| 2021 | 53 | 9 | 135 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,190 / EUR 2,590 / GBP 2,290 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted4, with length limits
- articlesArticles Volumes and issues Online first articlesLength not stated
- book reviewf the publisher. The normal length of a book review is between 1500 and 2000 words. Authors should follow the style of the Journal, with the emain text ≤ 2,000 words
- book reviewsInformation for Book reviews Book reviews should be sent to:Length not stated
- editorialDouble-blind peer review This journal follows a double-blind reviewing procedure. This means that the author will remain anonymous to the reviewers throughout p…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
LLMs do not satisfy authorship criteria; use must be documented Model summary
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
Original work only, not under consideration elsewhere, co-author approval Model summary
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data transparency; data sharing per field standards Model summary
All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards. Please note that journals may have individual policies on (sharing) research data in concordance with disciplinary norms and expectations.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Retrospective ethics approval usually not possible Model summary
If a study has not been granted ethics committee approval prior to commencing, retrospective ethics approval usually cannot be obtained and it may not be possible to consider the manuscript for peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Dao, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Double-blind peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double-blind reviewing procedure. This means that the author will remain anonymous to the reviewers throughout peer review. It is the responsibility of the author to anonymize the manuscript and any associated materials. Author names, affiliations and any other potentially identifying information should be removed from the manuscript text and any accompanying files (such as …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Permission required for previously published material Model summary
Authors wishing to include figures, tables, or text passages that have already been published elsewhere are required to obtain permission from the copyright owner(s) and to include evidence that such permission has been granted when submitting their papers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 4 issues per year
- ISSN
- 1540-3009
- Electronic ISSN
- 1569-7274
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 25, Issue 3 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy
What CAS zone is Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy is in Zone 3 of Philosophy, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Asian Studies / Philosophy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Philosophy. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.3, h-index 32.
What are the manuscript requirements of Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Reference style: Author–date; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy based?
Of the 36 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 8 (about 22%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), Mainland China (8) and Macau, China (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy is indexed in AHCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy open access, and what is the APC?
Dao-A Journal of Comparative Philosophy is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,190.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .