Journal profile · Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear
Dalton Transactions
ISSN 1477-9226 · eISSN 1477-9234 · Royal Society of Chemistry · ENGLAND · Weekly · Founded 2003
Dalton Transactions: CAS Zone 3 · Chemistry (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.24; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 2 months (community reports); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 1,756 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Dalton Transactions is published by Royal Society of Chemistry and is in Zone 3 of Chemistry in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Magnetism in coordination complexes, Metal-Organic Frameworks: Synthesis and Applications and Metal complexes synthesis and properties, together about 30.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Inorganic Chemistry. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Dalton Transactions welcomes high-quality, original submissions where the advancement of knowledge in inorganic chemistry is significant. Specific guidance for some areas of our scope is given below. Solid-state inorganic materials (including nanomaterials)We encourage work in the area of solid-state, materials and nano-chemistry that includes a significant inorganic chemistry component. Contributions could include the synthesis, characterisation, and applications of new inorganic or inorganic-organic hybrid solids, together with studies of their properties. However, studies of properties of known compounds are only encouraged if there is a clear advance in the inorganic chemistry, and where this forms a major component of both the novelty and significance in the paper. CatalysisStudies that utilize well-characterized inorganic and organometallic compounds as catalysts for chemical transformations are welcome but must emphasize the advancement of knowledge in inorganic chemistry. This would include catalyst design and synthesis, structure-activity relationships and/or mechanistic studies.Work reporting new catalysts for well-studied reactions must contextualize the reported results within the state-of-the-art to demonstrate impact and advancement. Studies that generate ill-defined species in situ and/or report tables of catalytic data without appropriate comparison with existing catalysts will not be considered at Dalton Transactions. Bioinorganic and medicinal inorganic chemistryWe welcome work on model compounds of metalloenzymes and biologically active inorganic compounds, including reports on their synthesis, characterization and studies of their applications. Spectroscopic or computational work on metalloenzymes, or pure biochemical, biological, or biomedical studies on inorganic compounds are only encouraged if they clearly relate to specific properties of the metals or metalloid elements involved, and significantly further our understanding of inorganic chemistry.The same applies to papers related to the sensing and visualization of biorelevant metal ions. Such work is expected to have its focus on inorganic aspects and must completely characterize the inorganic compounds involved. Theoretical and computational studiesWe welcome studies that report new models of reactivity, selectivity, bonding or structure, or new computational methods, that have relevance for the design of subsequent experiments.This is most clearly demonstrated by the description
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear
Editor-in-chief Christine ThomasPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 25%); most named Mainland China 1, India 1, Spain 1, Australia 1 (4 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Magnetism in coordination complexesMaterials Science11.4%
- Metal-Organic Frameworks: Synthesis and ApplicationsChemistry9.6%
- Metal complexes synthesis and propertiesMedicine9.1%
- Organometallic Complex Synthesis and CatalysisChemistry8.8%
- Lanthanide and Transition Metal ComplexesMaterials Science7.8%
- Synthesis and characterization of novel inorganic/organometallic compoundsChemistry3.6%
- Polyoxometalates: Synthesis and ApplicationsMaterials Science3.5%
- Metal-Catalyzed Oxygenation MechanismsChemistry3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Chemistry Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Chemistry Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Chemistry Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.24LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.58LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.65LetPub ·
- h-index
- 168LetPub ·
- h-index
- 227OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 25,179OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.62OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 23.47%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 1,543LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 40,369 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1,250 | 485 | 687 |
| 2025 | 1,756 | 720 | 5,110 |
| 2024 | 2,047 | 824 | 12,485 |
| 2023 | 2,089 | 622 | 19,137 |
| 2022 | 1,966 | 405 | 23,521 |
| 2021 | 2,061 | 404 | 32,008 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Open peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | GBP 3,100 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 50–250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- commentsDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
- communicationsDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
- frontiersDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
- full papersDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
- perspectiveto publication. Length By their nature Perspectives are not comprehensive reviews of a field of chemistry and are typically no more than 10,000 words in length …main text ≤ 10,000 words
- perspectivesDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
- tutorialls granted prior to publication. Length Tutorial Reviews should be no more than 15,000 words in length (about 25 typeset pages), excluding references, bmain text ≤ 15,000 words
- tutorial reviewsDalton Transactions publishes: Communications Full papers Perspectives Tutorial Reviews Frontiers CommentsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Perspectives are normally invited by the Editorial Board, however suggestions are welcome and enquiries, along with a brief synopsis and author credentials, should be directed to the Editorial Board at [email protected]. Readers may nominate themselves, or others, to write a Perspective.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of interest
In accordance with our policy on Conflicts of interest please ensure that a conflicts of interest statement is included in your manuscript. This statement is required for all submitted manuscripts. If no conflicts exist, please state that ‘There are no conflicts to declare’.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data availability statement required for all articles Model summary
A data availability statement (DAS) is required to be submitted alongside all articles. Please see the submit section of these guidelines for more details and examples of suitable statements you can use.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Using images and copyright
Open access licences: CC BY and CC BY-NC Model summary
Any images that are used should be numerically referenced in the figure caption. If your work is solely for your course, and will not be published publicly, you don’t need to obtain copyright permission. If you are preparing an article to be published you will have to obtain copyright permission. The publisher/copyright owner of the image will need to be contacted and asked for their process for r…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing options
Gold open access For authors who want to publish their article gold open access, our article processing charge (APC) of £3,100 (+ any applicable tax) is applied. Our APC is all-inclusive and makes your article freely available online immediately, permanently, and includes your choice of Creative Commons licence (CC BY or CC BY-NC) at no extra cost. It is not a submission charge, so you only pay if…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Transparent peer review
Transparent peer review available (opt-in) Model summary
In the interest of transparency and open science, transparent peer review is where the editor’s decision letter, reviewers’ comments and authors’ response for all versions of the manuscript are published alongside the article under an Open Access Creative Commons licence (CC-BY) . You can see some examples here: Transparent peer review example oneTransparent peer review example twoTransparent peer…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint servers (for example, ChemRxiv, arXiv)
Digital preservation policy: online content (electronic journals and eBooks) is preserved in CLOCKSS, LOCKSS, and Portico. Model summary
ChemRxiv & bioRxiv: The citation should include the author(s), the name of the preprint server, the year, the word “preprint” and the DOI (including version number). S. Bhattacharjee, S. P. Chaudhary and S. Bhattacharyya, ChemRxiv, 2019, preprint, DOI: 10.26434/chemrxiv.9794270.v1 arXiv: The citation should include the author(s), the name of the preprint server, the year, the article number and th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Weekly
- Founded
- 2003
- ISSN
- 1477-9226
- Electronic ISSN
- 1477-9234
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Dalton Transactions
What CAS zone is Dalton Transactions in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Dalton Transactions is in Zone 3 of Chemistry, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Chemistry. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Dalton Transactions?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.24; CiteScore 6, h-index 227.
How long does peer review take at Dalton Transactions?
Authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Dalton Transactions?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 50–250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Dalton Transactions based?
Of the 4 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 25%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (1), India (1) and Spain (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Dalton Transactions?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Dalton Transactions is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Dalton Transactions open access, and what is the APC?
Dalton Transactions is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .