Journal profile · CELL BIOLOGY
Cytoskeleton
ISSN 1949-3584 · eISSN 1949-3592 · Wiley-Liss Inc. · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 2010
Cytoskeleton: CAS Zone 4 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.55; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,920; median 77 days to acceptance (52 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 176 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Cytoskeleton is published by Wiley-Liss Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Microtubule and mitosis dynamics, Cellular Mechanics and Interactions and Cardiomyopathy and Myosin Studies, together about 43.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cell Biology and Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Cytoskeleton is “Your home for all cytoskeletal research” publishing papers on all aspects of the cytoskeleton and their associated proteins. The journal serves as a venue for the rapid and fair evaluation of manuscripts, leading to the publication of high-quality articles that advance the cytoskeleton field. Cytoskeleton welcomes submission of research articles, review and mini review articles, perspectives, technique and procedures, essays, commentaries, short reports, editorials, and emerging method and technology papers.Works published in Cytoskeleton include, (but are not limited to) the study of the cytoskeleton in:• Mammals• Plants • Insects• Eukaryotic and prokaryotic microbesCytoskeleton welcomes papers that use any experimental or theoretical approaches including (but not limited to):• Pure protein analysis• In vitro cell culture analysis• In vivo analysis• ModellingCytoskeleton focuses on all aspects of cytoskeletal research in healthy and diseased states, spanning genetic and cell biological observations, biochemical, biophysical and structural studies, mathematical modeling and theory. This includes, but is certainly not limited to, classic polymer systems of eukaryotic cells and their structural sites of attachment on membranes and organelles, as well as the bacterial cytoskeleton, the nucleoskeleton, and uncoventional polymer systems with structural/organizational roles. Cytoskeleton is published in 12 issues annually, and special issues will be dedicated to especially-active or newly-emerging areas of cytoskeletal research. Publishing in Cytoskeleton is FREE - there are no page charges, colour charges or associated costs.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CELL BIOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Julian GuttmanPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 43, Japan 11, United Kingdom 8, India 3, Spain 3 (84 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Microtubule and mitosis dynamicsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology19.3%
- Cellular Mechanics and InteractionsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology17.3%
- Cardiomyopathy and Myosin StudiesMedicine6.6%
- Cellular transport and secretionBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.5%
- Protist diversity and phylogenyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.2%
- Genetic and Kidney Cyst DiseasesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.1%
- Advanced Fluorescence Microscopy TechniquesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.5%
- Muscle Physiology and DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Biology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.55LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.57LetPub ·
- h-index
- 78LetPub ·
- h-index
- 70OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 544OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.96OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 44.39%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 75LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 96Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 215,345Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,531 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 129 | 50 | 9 |
| 2025 | 176 | 122 | 149 |
| 2024 | 163 | 122 | 290 |
| 2023 | 97 | 73 | 448 |
| 2022 | 36 | 12 | 169 |
| 2021 | 56 | 26 | 723 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
77 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 56 days – 114 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (60 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 98 days
- Sample
- 52 articles with submission and acceptance dates (327 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 82%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 82%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 22 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 59 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,920 / EUR 3,290 / GBP 2,560 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted9
- cover imagesCover ImagesLength not stated
- editorialEditorialsLength not stated
- mini-reviewMini-reviewsLength not stated
- perspectivesPerspectivesLength not stated
- picture of the monthPicture of the MonthLength not stated
- research articleResearch ArticlesLength not stated
- review articleReview ArticlesLength not stated
- short reportShort ReportsLength not stated
- techniques and proceduresTechniques and ProceduresLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, Preprints
- Publication ethics
Originality: submissions must be unpublished and not under consideration elsewhere. Model summary
Authors should kindly note that submission of a paper will be held to imply that it is unpublished work which is not being considered for publication elsewhere.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints are allowed. Model summary
Cytoskeleton will consider submissions that have previously been made available online, either on a preprint server like arXiv, bioRxiv, or PeerJ PrePrints, or on the authors’ own website.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Liss Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 2010
- ISSN
- 1949-3584
- Electronic ISSN
- 1949-3592
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 83, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Cytoskeleton
What CAS zone is Cytoskeleton in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Cytoskeleton is in Zone 4 of Biology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cell Biology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Cytoskeleton?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.55; CiteScore 2.2, h-index 70.
How long does peer review take at Cytoskeleton?
Based on the dates recorded on 52 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 77 days (interquartile range 56–114 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 82% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Cytoskeleton based?
Of the 84 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (43), Japan (11) and United Kingdom (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Cytoskeleton?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Cytoskeleton is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Cytoskeleton open access, and what is the APC?
Cytoskeleton is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,920.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .