Journal profile · RHEUMATOLOGY
Current Rheumatology Reports
ISSN 1523-3774 · eISSN 1534-6307 · Springer US · UNITED STATES · 12 issues per year · Founded 1999
Current Rheumatology Reports: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.89; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,490; median 71 days to acceptance (30 articles, last 24 months); 32 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Current Rheumatology Reports is published by Springer US and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Research, Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and Therapies and Spondyloarthritis Studies and Treatments, together about 34.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Rheumatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
This invitation-only journal aims to review the most important, recently published research in the field of rheumatology. By providing clear, insightful, balanced contributions by international experts, the journal intends to serve all those involved in the care and prevention of rheumatologic conditions.We accomplish this aim by appointing international authorities to serve as Section Editors in key subject areas such as the many forms of arthritis, osteoporosis and metabolic bone disease, and systemic lupus erythematosus. Section Editors, in turn, select topics for which leading experts contribute comprehensive review articles that emphasize new developments and recently published papers of major importance, highlighted by annotated reference lists. An international Editorial Board reviews the annual table of contents, suggests articles of special interest to their country/region, and ensures that topics are current and include emerging research. Commentaries from well-known figures in the field are also occasionally provided.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RHEUMATOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Bruce N. CronsteinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 14, United Kingdom 3, Japan 3, Germany 3, Canada 3 (39 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine12.9%
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine11.9%
- Spondyloarthritis Studies and TreatmentsMedicine9.4%
- Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders ResearchMedicine6.7%
- Vasculitis and related conditionsMedicine5.4%
- Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine5.2%
- Inflammatory Myopathies and DermatomyositisMedicine5.1%
- Psoriasis: Treatment and PathogenesisImmunology and Microbiology4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.89LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.51LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.58LetPub ·
- h-index
- 61LetPub ·
- h-index
- 114OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,455OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 6.46OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 33.94%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 31LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 482,600Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,017 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 27 | 11 | 10 |
| 2025 | 32 | 18 | 170 |
| 2024 | 46 | 20 | 498 |
| 2023 | 34 | 15 | 523 |
| 2022 | 42 | 20 | 972 |
| 2021 | 81 | 42 | 3,223 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
71 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 46 days – 114 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 19 days (65 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 93 days
- Sample
- 30 articles with submission and acceptance dates (79 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,490 / EUR 3,790 / GBP 2,990 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted2
- commentaryReviews and Invited Commentaries Back to topLength not stated
- reviewReviews and Invited Commentaries Back to topLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability statements
All original research must include a data availability statement. This statement should explain how to access data supporting the results and analysis in the article, including links/citations to publicly archived datasets analysed or generated during the study. Please see our full policy here. If it is not possible to share research data publicly, for instance when individual privacy could be com…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Current Rheumatology Reports, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review COVID-19 and impact on peer review
As a result of the significant disruption that is being caused by the COVID-19 pandemic we are very aware that many researchers will have difficulty in meeting the timelines associated with our peer review process during normal times. Please do let us know if you need additional time. Our systems will continue to remind you of the original timelines but we intend to be highly flexible at this time…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer US
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- 12 issues per year
- Founded
- 1999
- ISSN
- 1523-3774
- Electronic ISSN
- 1534-6307
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Current Rheumatology Reports
What CAS zone is Current Rheumatology Reports in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Current Rheumatology Reports is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Rheumatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Current Rheumatology Reports?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.89; CiteScore 8.1, h-index 114.
How long does peer review take at Current Rheumatology Reports?
Based on the dates recorded on 30 articles published between September 2024 and September 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 71 days (interquartile range 46–114 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Current Rheumatology Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Current Rheumatology Reports based?
Of the 39 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14), United Kingdom (3) and Japan (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Current Rheumatology Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Current Rheumatology Reports is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Current Rheumatology Reports open access, and what is the APC?
Current Rheumatology Reports is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,490.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .