Journal profile · Medicine-Geriatrics and Gerontology
Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research
ISSN 1687-7063 · eISSN 1687-7071 · Hindawi · United Kingdom
Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research: fully open access; APC about USD 820; review about 13 weeks (community reports); 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research is published by Hindawi. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Aging, Health, and Disability, Frailty in Older Adults and Dementia and Cognitive Impairment Research, together about 32.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Physiology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research aims at scientists, geriatricians, health professionals interested in molecular, cellular, organismal aspects of gerontological research and in diagnosis, treatment, evaluation and educational aspects of geriatrics research. The journal also highlights new discoveries, approaches as well as technical developments in basic, clinical and discovery driven translational research.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Geriatrics and Gerontology
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Italy 5, United States 3, Japan 2, Spain 2, Poland 2 (17 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Aging, Health, and DisabilityMedicine12.8%
- Frailty in Older AdultsMedicine11%
- Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine9%
- Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions8.3%
- Aging and Gerontology ResearchPsychology8.3%
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine7.8%
- Aging, Elder Care, and Social IssuesHealth Professions5.3%
- Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine4.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Geriatrics and Gerontology | Q2 | 41/123 | 67th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedCASCINAHLDOAJPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, CNKI, J-Gate
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.76LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.52LetPub ·
- h-index
- 52OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 170OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.25OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 225 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 397 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 593 |
| 2024 | 4 | 3 | 718 |
| 2023 | 3 | 3 | 746 |
| 2022 | 2 | 2 | 784 |
| 2021 | 4 | 4 | 882 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 13 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Anonymous peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 820 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 800 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Reference style
- Chicago
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted7
- original researchThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- research articleThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- research articlesResearch articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manuscripts should describe how the research project was con…Length not stated
- reviewThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- review articleThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
- reviewsReviews A review article provides an overview of the published literature in a particular subject area.Length not stated
- systematic reviewThe journal will consider the following article types: Research articles Research articles should present the results of an original research study. These manus…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Title and authorship information
The following information should be included: Manuscript title Full author names Full institutional mailing addresses Email addresses Affiliations. The publisher remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in institutional affiliations. Responsibility for affiliations ultimately rests with the author, although the publisher may request changes be made to countries listed in affiliations t…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of interest
Max three manuscripts under review per author at any time. Model summary
Authors must declare all relevant interests that could be perceived as conflicting. Authors should explain why each interest may represent a conflict. If no conflicts exist, the authors should state this. Submitting authors are responsible for co-authors declaring their interests. Conflicts of interest (COIs, also known as 'competing interests') occur when issues outside research could be reasonab…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data availability statement required. Model summary
Authors must include a data availability statement with their submission. When submitting a manuscript, submitting authors will be asked to select from several pre-written statements or use the text editor to tell us about data availability with regard to their submission. Review our Data Sharing Policy to understand which data availability statement is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright and permissions
Authors retain copyright; open access articles under CC BY. Model summary
Authors retain the copyright of their manuscripts, and all open access articles are distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided that the original work is properly cited. The use of general descriptive names, trade names, trademarks, and so forth in this publication, even if not speci…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access; APCs apply. Model summary
The journal is open access. Article processing charges (APCs) allow the publisher to make articles immediately available online to anyone to read and reuse upon publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single-anonymized peer review model, for applicable article types. Model summary
The journal follows a single-anonymized peer review model, for applicable article types. Information on the Peer Review model can be found here. Wiley's policy on the confidentiality of the review process is available here. All submitted articles are subject to assessment and peer review to ensure editorial appropriateness and technical correctness. Research published in the journal must be: Scien…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
iThenticate CrossCheck used for plagiarism detection. Model summary
This journal uses iThenticate’s CrossCheck software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint articles accepted; preprints should be cited. Model summary
The journal accepts articles previously published on preprint servers, and does not consider this to compromise the novelty of the results. Articles based on content previously made public only on a preprint server, institutional repository, or in a thesis will be considered. The preprint should be cited.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting guidelines
Authors are strongly encouraged to use appropriate reporting guidelines when preparing and submitting manuscripts, to maximize transparency and reproducibility. Our editors and reviewers are also encouraged to use them in the review process. Completed checklists should be provided in the supplementary files on submission. We particularly encourage the use of: CONSORT for randomized controlled tria…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Hindawi
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1687-7063
- Electronic ISSN
- 1687-7071
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research
How long does peer review take at Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research?
Authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Reference style: Chicago; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research based?
Of the 17 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Italy (5), United States (3) and Japan (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed, CAS, CINAHL and DOAJ; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research open access, and what is the APC?
Current Gerontology and Geriatrics Research is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 820.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .