Journal profile · Ophthalmology

Current Eye Research

ISSN 0271-3683 · eISSN 1460-2202 · Taylor and Francis Ltd. · NETHERLANDS · Monthly · Founded 1981

Current Eye Research: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.84; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 192 days to acceptance (96 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 161 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.84Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time192 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 96 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year1612025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Current Eye Research is published by Taylor and Francis Ltd. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Glaucoma and retinal disorders, Retinal Diseases and Treatments and Ocular Surface and Contact Lens, together about 32.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology and Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Current Eye Research is a subscription-based peer-reviewed journal, aiming to publish the highest quality articles across all areas of global eye research - ranging from basic science to clinical studies - in order to promote collaboration between preclinical and clinical scientists and improve overall patient care in Ophthalmology, from the bench to the bedside. The journal’s audience includes scientists and clinicians interested in clinical research, mechanism-based research, basic science, pre-clinical translational studies, studies on visual function, anatomy, physiology, biophysics, biochemistry, pharmacology, developmental biology, microbiology and immunology, and more. The journal welcomes for consideration the following: Original Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication Plus, and all articles received by the Journal will be subject to Single Anonymous peer review. Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal. Read the Instructions for Authors for information on how to submit your article.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Ophthalmology

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 13, India 5, Germany 4, United Kingdom 3, Australia 1 (26 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine12%
  2. Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine10.6%
  3. Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine10.2%
  4. Corneal Surgery and TreatmentsMedicine8.2%
  5. Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine7.5%
  6. Connexins and lens biologyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.6%
  7. Retinal Development and DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.3%
  8. Retinal and Macular SurgeryMedicine5.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorOphthalmologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorOphthalmologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorOphthalmologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: ProQuest, OCLC, Adis International Ltd., EBSCOhost, Personal Alert (E-mail)

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.84LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.7Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.2LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4.2Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.69LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.69Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.84LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.84Publisher website ·
h-index
73LetPub ·
h-index
120OpenAlex ·
i10-index
4,500OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.8OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
6.73%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
154LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
248,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 7,197 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261212517
202516147244
202415449524
202314553874
2022179751,793
2021192542,011

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

192 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 132 days – 258 days

Acceptance to online
median 17 days (96 articles)
Submission to online
median 213 days
Sample
96 articles with submission and acceptance dates (313 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
3–8 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
17%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
8 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
87 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
21 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted5
  1. accelerated publication plusOriginal Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication PlusLength not stated
  2. letters to the editorOriginal Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication PlusLength not stated
  3. mini reviewOriginal Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication PlusLength not stated
  4. original articlesOriginal Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication PlusLength not stated
  5. short communicationOriginal Articles, Letters to the Editor, Mini Review, Short Communication, Accelerated Publication PlusLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Gold open access option Model summary

Current Eye Research is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Single Anonymous peer review Model summary

all articles received by the Journal will be subject to Single Anonymous peer review

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor and Francis Ltd.
Country or region
NETHERLANDS
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
1981
ISSN
0271-3683
Electronic ISSN
1460-2202
Latest issue on the website
Volume 51, Issue 9 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Current Eye Research

What CAS zone is Current Eye Research in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Current Eye Research is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Ophthalmology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Current Eye Research?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.84; CiteScore 4.2, h-index 120.

How long does peer review take at Current Eye Research?

Based on the dates recorded on 96 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 192 days (interquartile range 132–258 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 17%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Current Eye Research based?

Of the 26 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (13), India (5) and Germany (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Current Eye Research?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Current Eye Research is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Current Eye Research open access, and what is the APC?

Current Eye Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .