Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory
Crossroads
ISSN 2300-6250 · Faculty of Philology, University of Bialystok · Poland
Crossroads: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 18 weeks (community reports); 33 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Crossroads is published by Faculty of Philology, University of Bialystok. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Translation Studies and Practices, American and British Literature Analysis and EFL/ESL Teaching and Learning, together about 19.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Literature and Literary Theory. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Crossroads. A Journal of English Studies is an open-access, peer-reviewed electronic quarterly for research in the broad areas of English language, linguistics and Anglophone literature, published by the Faculty of Philology at the University of Białystok (Poland). It welcomes contributions (research papers and review articles) from all subdisciplines of linguistics (theoretical and applied) and literary studies (literary theory and literary criticism). It also provides a forum for contrastive (cross-linguistic, cross-cultural) and interdisciplinary research in the areas of linguistics, literature, cultural studies, and intercultural communication.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory
Editor-in-chief Agata RozumkoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Poland 7, United Kingdom 1, Italy 1, Spain 1, Colombia 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Translation Studies and PracticesArts and Humanities7.1%
- American and British Literature AnalysisArts and Humanities6.4%
- EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities6%
- Postcolonial and Cultural Literary StudiesArts and Humanities6%
- Literature: history, themes, analysisArts and Humanities5.2%
- Discourse Analysis in Language StudiesArts and Humanities5%
- Language, Metaphor, and CognitionPsychology4.8%
- Poetry Analysis and CriticismArts and Humanities4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Literature and Literary Theory | Q2 | 501/1186 | 57th |
| Language and Linguistics | Q3 | 789/1137 | 30th |
| Linguistics and Language | Q3 | 889/1221 | 27th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
ERIH PLUSPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, EBSCO ULTIMATE, The Central and Eastern European Online Library (C.E.E.O.L.), BazHum
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.11LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.13LetPub ·
- h-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.22OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year (publisher) 2024
- 40Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 2,026Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 354 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 12 | 12 | 37 |
| 2025 | 33 | 33 | 34 |
| 2024 | 37 | 37 | 43 |
| 2023 | 31 | 31 | 58 |
| 2022 | 32 | 32 | 36 |
| 2021 | 24 | 24 | 32 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-SA | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 100–150 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
Article types accepted2
- research paperspapers (research papers and review articles) can be submitted all year longLength not stated
- review articlespapers (research papers and review articles) can be submitted all year longLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright, Peer review
- AI use The use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) tools
All articles submitted to Crossroads must include a declaration regarding the use of artificial intelligence (AI) in the manuscript preparation process. This declaration should be placed at the bottom of the article, below the References section, and should specify any use of AI tools by the authors. Crossroads permits, without restriction, the use of AI tools for language editing; any other use o…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
The use of this article will be governed by Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0), as currently displayed on: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/. Under Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike 4.0 International License users are free to copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format, to remix, tran…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review The review process
double-blind peer review Model summary
Crossroads uses double-blind peer review, which is why the authors must ensure that their name(s) and all other identifying features are removed from the paper, both from the main text and the references. The editors ensure that all papers submitted to Crossroads are reviewed by at least two independent reviewers who are experts in their fields and who are affiliated with different institutions th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Faculty of Philology, University of Bialystok
- Country or region
- Poland
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2300-6250
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Crossroads
How long does peer review take at Crossroads?
Authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Crossroads?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Keywords: ≥ 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Crossroads based?
Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Poland (7), United Kingdom (1) and Italy (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Crossroads?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Crossroads is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists ERIH PLUS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Crossroads open access, and what is the APC?
Crossroads is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .