Journal profile · OPHTHALMOLOGY

Contact Lens & Anterior Eye

ISSN 1367-0484 · eISSN 1476-5411 · Elsevier · NETHERLANDS

Contact Lens & Anterior Eye: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.07; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,740; median 139 days to acceptance (95 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 203 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor4.07Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review time139 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 95 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,740Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceFairly easyCommunity average
Articles per year2032025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Contact Lens & Anterior Eye is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Ocular Surface and Contact Lens, Corneal surgery and disorders and Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment Studies, together about 62.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Contact Lens & Anterior Eye (CLAE ) is the official journal of the British Contact Lens Association. It is a research-based journal covering all aspects of contact lens theory and practice. We welcome original articles on innovations and developments in the field, including myopia control studies related to contact lenses. Please note that we do not accept submissions focused solely on surgical procedures or glaucoma.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): OPHTHALMOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Shehzad A. NarooPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 7%); most named Australia 7, United Kingdom 6, United States 5, Mainland China 2, Spain 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine31.7%
  2. Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine16%
  3. Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine14.5%
  4. Corneal Surgery and TreatmentsMedicine8%
  5. Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine4.9%
  6. Ocular Infections and TreatmentsMedicine4%
  7. Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine3.8%
  8. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance2.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOphthalmologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorOphthalmologyZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOphthalmologyZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
4.07LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
4.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
7.5LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
7.5Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.55LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.94LetPub ·
h-index
43LetPub ·
h-index
82OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,077OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.92OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
16.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
37.24%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
139LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,841 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026824011
202520373340
2024187721,027
20239451757
2022169441,677
2021188632,740

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

139 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 97 days – 199 days

Acceptance to online
median 8 days (95 articles)
Submission to online
median 148 days
Sample
95 articles with submission and acceptance dates (286 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
over 12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
Fairly easyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
7 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
50 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
127 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
9 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,740 / EUR 3,500 / GBP 2,990 / JPY 463,870——
Publisher websiteUSD 4,300——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
3–6
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Highlights
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10
  1. case reportThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  2. case reportsThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  3. commentaryThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  4. correspondenceThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  5. full length papersThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  6. letter to the editorThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  7. review articleThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  8. review articlesThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  9. short communicationThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
  10. short communicationsThe journal publishes the following: Full Length Papers, Review Articles, Case Reports, Short Communications, and Correspondence (such as commentary on a publis…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Changes to authorship

Authors are expected to consider carefully the list and order of authors before submitting their manuscript and provide the definitive list of authors at the time of the original submission. Any addition, deletion or rearrangement of author names in the authorship list should be made only before the manuscript has been accepted and only if approved by the journal Editor. To request such a change, …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work, which is the subject of the manuscript. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors mu…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized review Model summary

This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of one independent expert reviewer to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor's…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprint references

Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
NETHERLANDS
Language
English
ISSN
1367-0484
Electronic ISSN
1476-5411
Society / sponsor
British Contact Lens Association
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Contact Lens & Anterior Eye

What CAS zone is Contact Lens & Anterior Eye in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Contact Lens & Anterior Eye is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Ophthalmology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Contact Lens & Anterior Eye?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.07; CiteScore 7.5, h-index 82.

How long does peer review take at Contact Lens & Anterior Eye?

Based on the dates recorded on 95 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 139 days (interquartile range 97–199 days); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Contact Lens & Anterior Eye?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–6; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Contact Lens & Anterior Eye based?

Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 7%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (7), United Kingdom (6) and United States (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Contact Lens & Anterior Eye?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Contact Lens & Anterior Eye is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Contact Lens & Anterior Eye open access, and what is the APC?

Contact Lens & Anterior Eye is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,740.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .