Journal profile · PSYCHOLOGY, EXPERIMENTAL
Consciousness and Cognition
ISSN 1053-8100 · eISSN 1090-2376 · Elsevier
Consciousness and Cognition: CAS Zone 3 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.52; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,210; median 148 days to acceptance (100 articles, last 24 months); 112 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Consciousness and Cognition is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neural and Behavioral Psychology Studies, Visual perception and processing mechanisms and Neural dynamics and brain function, together about 27.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Consciousness and Cognition, An International Journal, provides a forum for a natural science approach to the issues of consciousness, voluntary control, and self. The journal features empirical research (in the form of articles) and theoretical reviews. The journal aims to be both scientifically rigorous and open to novel contributions.Topics of interest include but are not limited to:• Implicit memory • Selective and directed attention • Priming, subliminal or otherwise • Neuroelectric correlates of awareness and decision-making • Assessment of awareness; protocol analysis • The properties of automaticity in perception and action • Relations between awareness and attention • Models of the thalamocortical complex • Blindsight • The neuropathology of consciousness and voluntary control • Pathology of self and self-awareness • The development of the self-concept in childrenDiscount subscription rates are available for members of the ASSC. Please contact the sales office for more details: For the Americas, please email: [email protected] For Europe, please email: [email protected] For Asia Pacific, please email: [email protected]
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PSYCHOLOGY, EXPERIMENTAL
Editor-in-chief Antti RevonsuoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 33, Germany 10, United Kingdom 8, Taiwan, China 2, Canada 2 (65 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Neural and Behavioral Psychology StudiesNeuroscience13.9%
- Visual perception and processing mechanismsNeuroscience7.5%
- Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience6.5%
- Action Observation and SynchronizationPsychology6.2%
- Memory Processes and InfluencesNeuroscience5.2%
- Psychology of Moral and Emotional JudgmentNeuroscience4.5%
- Psychosomatic Disorders and Their TreatmentsMedicine4.3%
- Face Recognition and PerceptionNeuroscience4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.52LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.94LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.04LetPub ·
- h-index
- 170OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,323OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.39OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 53.13%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 100LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,761 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 106 | 63 | 34 |
| 2025 | 112 | 69 | 193 |
| 2024 | 110 | 77 | 556 |
| 2023 | 107 | 53 | 852 |
| 2022 | 128 | 62 | 1,384 |
| 2021 | 129 | 57 | 2,033 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
148 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 102 days – 200 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 8 days (100 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 156 days
- Sample
- 100 articles with submission and acceptance dates (219 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 60 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 148 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,210 / EUR 3,000 / GBP 2,570 / JPY 398,140 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,240 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- APA
- Highlights
- Required
Article types accepted4
- articlesArticles: These papers report significant experimental findings. Typical articles occupy up to 14,000 words, but can be longer with submission of a cover letter…Length not stated
- registered reportThis journal supports Registered Reports as article type, allowing you to have your research reviewed and pre-registered prior to conducting your experiments. P…Length not stated
- registered reportsRegistered reports: (click here for more details). These submissions undergo a two-phase review process in which study rationale and methodology are considered …Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles: These are longer papers that critically review a topic of importance to the readership of Consciousness and Cognition. Such papers are typicall…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access options available Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1053-8100
- Electronic ISSN
- 1090-2376
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Consciousness and Cognition
What CAS zone is Consciousness and Cognition in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Consciousness and Cognition is in Zone 3 of Psychology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychology, Experimental. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Consciousness and Cognition?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.52; CiteScore 4.3, h-index 170.
How long does peer review take at Consciousness and Cognition?
Based on the dates recorded on 100 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 148 days (interquartile range 102–200 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Consciousness and Cognition?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: APA; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Consciousness and Cognition based?
Of the 65 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (33), Germany (10) and United Kingdom (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Consciousness and Cognition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Consciousness and Cognition is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Consciousness and Cognition open access, and what is the APC?
Consciousness and Cognition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,210.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .