Journal profile · Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health
Conflict and Health
ISSN 1752-1505 · BioMed Central · United Kingdom · Founded 2007
Conflict and Health: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 6.33; fully open access; APC about USD 3,390; median 144 days to acceptance (101 articles, last 24 months); 104 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Conflict and Health is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Migration, Health and Trauma, Health and Conflict Studies and Global Maternal and Child Health, together about 49.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Conflict and Health is a highly-accessed, open access journal documenting the public health impacts and responses related to armed conflict, humanitarian crises and forced migration. The journal provides a global platform to disseminate insightful and impactful studies. These span a broad range of public health topics including infectious disease prevention and control, nutrition, reproductive and maternal health, sexual and gender-based violence, mental health, non-communicable diseases, health systems, and ethics in conflicts and humanitarian crises. Supported by a global editorial board, Conflict and Health welcomes quantitative and qualitative studies and perspectives.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health
Editor-in-chief Karl CPPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 21, United Kingdom 13, Switzerland 8, Canada 4, Italy 3 (59 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Migration, Health and TraumaPsychology23.5%
- Health and Conflict StudiesHealth Professions14.6%
- Global Maternal and Child HealthMedicine11.7%
- Posttraumatic Stress Disorder ResearchPsychology5.4%
- Disaster Response and ManagementHealth Professions5.4%
- Intimate Partner and Family ViolenceSocial Sciences4.4%
- Viral Infections and Outbreaks ResearchMedicine4.1%
- Global Health and SurgeryMedicine3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Public, Environmental & Occupational Health | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
CASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 6.33LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 6.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.55LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.12LetPub ·
- h-index
- 21LetPub ·
- h-index
- 78OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 605OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.96OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 95LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,025Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 1,100,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 965 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 102 | 102 | 44 |
| 2025 | 104 | 104 | 443 |
| 2024 | 77 | 77 | 1,201 |
| 2023 | 60 | 60 | 1,042 |
| 2022 | 65 | 65 | 1,386 |
| 2021 | 95 | 95 | 2,414 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
144 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 98 days – 238 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 15 days (101 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 163 days
- Sample
- 101 articles with submission and acceptance dates (221 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,890 / USD 3,390 / GBP 2,590 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,290 / EUR 2,790 / GBP 2,490 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,390 / USD 3,190 / EUR 2,690 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,590 / USD 3,390 / EUR 2,890 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteArticle types accepted5
- case studyFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Case study Comment Methodology Research ReviewLength not stated
- commentFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Case study Comment Methodology Research ReviewLength not stated
- methodologyFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Case study Comment Methodology Research ReviewLength not stated
- researchFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Case study Comment Methodology Research ReviewLength not stated
- reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Case study Comment Methodology Research ReviewLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship Global authorship
We are proud to acknowledge that approximately 44% of the articles published in Conflict and Health in 2025 were authored by researchers in LMICs. Click and find more information on financial support to publish OA.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data sharing strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories where appropriate. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Published under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 or CC BY 4.0. Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Conflict and Health articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution Non…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2007
- ISSN
- 1752-1505
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Conflict and Health
What CAS zone is Conflict and Health in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Conflict and Health is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Public, Environmental & Occupational Health. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Conflict and Health?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6.33; CiteScore 6.6, h-index 78.
How long does peer review take at Conflict and Health?
Based on the dates recorded on 101 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 144 days (interquartile range 98–238 days); authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Conflict and Health based?
Of the 59 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (21), United Kingdom (13) and Switzerland (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Conflict and Health?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Conflict and Health is indexed in SCIE, SSCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Conflict and Health open access, and what is the APC?
Conflict and Health is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,390.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .