Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory

Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin

ISSN 2410-0951 · Universitat Hamburg · Germany

Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ1Literature and Literary Theory · rank 156/1186 · 86th percentile
Review timeabout 30 weeksCommunity average; too few article dates (1)
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year—No count yet

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

It is dedicated to the vast variety of issues concerned with the research into the oriental manuscript traditions, from instrumental analysis, to codicology and palaeography, to critical text editing, to manuscript preservation, to the application of digital tools to manuscript research. The geographical focus is the Mediterranean Near East, with its wide array of language traditions including, though not limiting to, Arabic, Armenian, Avestan, Caucasian Albanian, Christian Palestinian Aramaic, Coptic, Ethiopic, Georgian, Greek, Hebrew, Persian, Slavonic, Syriac, and Turkish.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
Literature and Literary TheoryQ1156/118686th
ConservationQ243/10860th
Language and LinguisticsQ2474/113758th
Linguistics and LanguageQ2573/122153rd
Library and Information SciencesQ3206/29630th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
0.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.1LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.36LetPub ·
h-index
0OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 30 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-SA
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
100–200 words
Manuscript length
≤ 10,000 words
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted12, with length limits
  1. book reviews(7) book reviews.Length not stated
  2. conference and activity reports(5) conference and activity reports of c.400-1000 words;Length not stated
  3. dissertation abstracts(6) dissertation abstracts;Length not stated
  4. miscellaneous contributionsIt should not exceed respectively 10,000 words for Research Articles, 3,000 words for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,200 words for Review …Length not stated
  5. project descriptions(4) joint or individual project descriptions of c.600-3000 words;Length not stated
  6. research articleot exceed respectively 10,000 words for Research Articles, 3,000 words for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,20main text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. research articlesIt should not exceed respectively 10,000 words for Research Articles, 3,000 words for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,200 words for Review …Length not stated
  8. research notes(2) shorter research notes (always accompanied by an abstract)Length not stated
  9. reviewThe COMSt Bulletin employs double blind reviewing. The articles received first undergo a preliminary selection for the evaluation of their compliance with acade…Length not stated
  10. review articlerds for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,200 words for Review Notes. Image file(s) are submitted separately. Mmain text ≤ 1,200 words
  11. review articlesIt should not exceed respectively 10,000 words for Research Articles, 3,000 words for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,200 words for Review …Length not stated
  12. review notesIt should not exceed respectively 10,000 words for Research Articles, 3,000 words for Miscellaneous Contributions and Review Articles or 1,200 words for Review …Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review
Authorship

No APC. Model summary

There are no article processing charges involved.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Publication Ethics and Publication Malpractice Statement

Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin follows the guidance provided in COPE’s ‘Core Practices’ and the norms issued by COPE. Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin expects the members of the editorial board and editorial team, authors, and reviewers to follow these codes to reach the highest standards in publication ethics. Journal title, publishing schedule, affiliation, data…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright and responsibilities

Authors retain copyright, exclusive right of first publication to journal. Model summary

Authors bear the responsibility for securing permission, when necessary, for figures, tabular materials, or any other material protected by copyright laws.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Review process

Double blind peer review. Model summary

The COMSt Bulletin employs double blind reviewing. The articles received first undergo a preliminary selection for the evaluation of their compliance with academic criteria, the domains of the journal and the guidelines. Each article that passed this preliminary selection is peer reviewed by one or two anonymous referees who are chosen according to their domains of expertise. Authors will receive …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Universitat Hamburg
Country or region
Germany
Language
English, French, German, Italian
ISSN
2410-0951
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin

How long does peer review take at Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin?

Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin open access, and what is the APC?

Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies Bulletin is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .