Journal profile · LITERATURE

Comparative Literature-East & West

ISSN 2572-3618 · Taylor & Francis · United Kingdom

Comparative Literature-East & West: CAS Zone 2 · Literature (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 181 days to acceptance (27 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 27% (journal website); 14 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.2From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 2 · Literature2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Literature
Review time181 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 27 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance27%From the journal's website
Articles per year142025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Comparative Literature-East & West is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 2 of Literature in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Chinese history and philosophy, Translation Studies and Practices and Japanese History and Culture, together about 41.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Literature and Literary Theory. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Comparative Literature: East & West is a peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes research on all aspects of comparative literature. The journal aims to serve as a platform to promote scholarship of comparative literature in the East and West and encourage the exchange of ideas and information. Comparative Literature: East & West accepts papers on the following topics: Comparative literature World literature Literary criticism Translation studies Media studies Cultural studies Comparative poetics Comparative Literature: East & West publishes original contributions to the field of comparative literature. The journal operates on a double anonymized peer review policy. Comparative Literature: East & West is sponsored by Research Base of Comparative Literature, National Key Discipline, Sichuan University.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): LITERATURE

Editorial board by country: 8 in mainland China (about 53%); most named Mainland China 8, United States 3, Hong Kong, China 2, Belgium 1, Denmark 1 (15 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Chinese history and philosophySocial Sciences19.2%
  2. Translation Studies and PracticesArts and Humanities14.8%
  3. Japanese History and CultureSocial Sciences7.3%
  4. Postcolonial and Cultural Literary StudiesArts and Humanities7.3%
  5. Poetry Analysis and CriticismArts and Humanities4.8%
  6. Philippine History and CultureSocial Sciences4.8%
  7. Asian Culture and Media StudiesSocial Sciences4.8%
  8. Comparative and World LiteratureArts and Humanities3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Literature Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorLiteratureZone 2
MinorLiteratureZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Literature Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorLiteratureZone 3
MinorLiteratureZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Literature Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorLiteratureZone 3
MinorLiteratureZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.2Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
0.5LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
0.5Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.11LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.11Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.49LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.49Publisher website ·
h-index
6OpenAlex ·
i10-index
5OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.54OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
14LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
136,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 566 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202614141
202514140
2024181824
2023161610
2022202038
2021151522

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

181 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 45 days – 467 days

Acceptance to online
median 18 days (27 articles)
Submission to online
median 196 days
Sample
27 articles with submission and acceptance dates (26 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 20 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
27%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
168 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJGBP 770NoCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexGBP 770——
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. book reviewBook Review | Published online: 12 Sep 2026Length not stated
  2. research articleResearch Article | Published online: 12 Sep 2026Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review, Self-archiving
Open access Open access

Open access Model summary

Comparative Literature: East & West is an open access journal and only publishes open access articles. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and readership of your article Make an impact and reach new readers, no…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

The journal operates on a double anonymized peer review policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Self-archiving

Sponsored by Research Base of Comparative Literature, National Key Discipline, Sichuan University Model summary

Comparative Literature: East & West is sponsored by Research Base of Comparative Literature, National Key Discipline, Sichuan University.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2572-3618
Society / sponsor
Sichuan University
Latest issue on the website
Volume 10, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Comparative Literature-East & West

What CAS zone is Comparative Literature-East & West in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Comparative Literature-East & West is in Zone 2 of Literature, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Literature. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Literature. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Comparative Literature-East & West?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.2 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.5, h-index 6.

How long does peer review take at Comparative Literature-East & West?

Based on the dates recorded on 27 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 181 days (interquartile range 45–467 days); authors report an average review time of about 20 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 27%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Comparative Literature-East & West based?

Of the 15 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 8 (about 53%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (8), United States (3) and Hong Kong, China (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Comparative Literature-East & West?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Comparative Literature-East & West is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Comparative Literature-East & West open access, and what is the APC?

Comparative Literature-East & West is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .