Journal profile · Physics and Astronomy-General Physics and Astronomy

Communications Physics

ISSN 2399-3650 · Springer Nature · ENGLAND · Founded 2018

Communications Physics: CAS Zone 1 · Physics & Astronomy (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 5.5; fully open access; APC about USD 4,190; median 197 days to acceptance (140 articles, last 24 months); 543 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor5.5Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Physics & Astronomy2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Physics & Astronomy
Review time197 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 140 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 4,190Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year5432025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Communications Physics is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Physics & Astronomy in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Topological Materials and Phenomena, Physics of Superconductivity and Magnetism and Quantum Information and Cryptography, together about 23.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Atomic and Molecular Physics, and Optics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Publishing significant advances across all areas of physics. Committed to rapid dissemination of primary research, reviews, and comments. Bringing high visibility through open access and a global reach.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Physics and Astronomy-General Physics and Astronomy

Editorial board by country: 10 in mainland China (about 10%); most named United States 14, Mainland China 10, United Kingdom 9, Germany 9, Japan 6 (99 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Topological Materials and PhenomenaPhysics and Astronomy9.9%
  2. Physics of Superconductivity and MagnetismPhysics and Astronomy6.8%
  3. Quantum Information and CryptographyComputer Science6.6%
  4. Quantum and electron transport phenomenaPhysics and Astronomy6.2%
  5. Advanced Condensed Matter PhysicsPhysics and Astronomy5%
  6. Quantum many-body systemsPhysics and Astronomy5%
  7. Quantum Computing Algorithms and ArchitectureComputer Science4.9%
  8. Cold Atom Physics and Bose-Einstein CondensatesPhysics and Astronomy4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Physics & Astronomy Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPhysics & AstronomyZone 1
MinorPhysics, MultidisciplinaryZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Physics & Astronomy Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPhysics & AstronomyZone 1
MinorPhysics, MultidisciplinaryZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Physics & Astronomy Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPhysics & AstronomyZone 1
MinorPhysics, MultidisciplinaryZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

EI CompendexWeb of ScienceINSPECCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Astrophysics Data System, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, ISSN 2399-3650 (online)

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
5.5LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
5.5Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2024
5.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
6.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
1.64LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.72LetPub ·
h-index
85OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,387OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.79OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
1.8%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
523LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
5,214,671Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,892 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026427427319
20255435432,717
20244274275,048
20233753756,162
20223433439,143
20212772778,727

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

197 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 143 days – 244 days

Acceptance to online
median 18 days (140 articles)
Submission to online
median 216 days
Sample
140 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,061 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 13 weeksLetPub ·
Desk decision
7 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2024
7 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2024
158 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 13 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJEUR 3,590 / USD 4,190 / GBP 3,150YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 3,990 / EUR 3,390 / GBP 2,990——
LetPubGBP 2,790 / USD 3,790 / EUR 3,190Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. articleArticleOpen Access07 Aug 2026Length not stated
  2. collectionCollection 10 Jan 2025Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
Peer review Transparent Peer Review

From 8 of September 2026, all new submissions, if accepted, will have the reviewer comments and authors rebuttal published alongside the paper. This aligns with what the practice of other journals in the Nature Portfolio, including Nature. For accepted manuscripts submitted prior to 8th September transparent peer review remains optional.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Springer Nature
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Founded
2018
ISSN
2399-3650
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Communications Physics

What CAS zone is Communications Physics in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Communications Physics is in Zone 1 of Physics & Astronomy, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Physics, Multidisciplinary; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Physics & Astronomy. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Communications Physics?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.5; CiteScore 9, h-index 85.

How long does peer review take at Communications Physics?

Based on the dates recorded on 140 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 197 days (interquartile range 143–244 days); authors report an average review time of about 13 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Communications Physics based?

Of the 99 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 10 (about 10%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14), Mainland China (10) and United Kingdom (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Communications Physics?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Communications Physics is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex, Web of Science, INSPEC, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Communications Physics open access, and what is the APC?

Communications Physics is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 4,190.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .