Journal profile · Materials Science, Biomaterials
Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces
ISSN 0927-7765 · eISSN 1873-4367 · Elsevier · NETHERLANDS · Monthly · Founded 1993
Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.9; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,790; median 78 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy (Elsevier website: 31%); 827 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nanoparticle-Based Drug Delivery, Polymer Surface Interaction Studies and Lipid Membrane Structure and Behavior, together about 23.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
An International Journal Devoted to Fundamental and Applied Research on Colloid and Interfacial Phenomena in Relation to Systems of Biological OriginColloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces is an international journal devoted to fundamental and applied research on colloid and interfacial phenomena in relation to systems of biological origin, having particular relevance to the medical, pharmaceutical, biotechnological, food and cosmetic fields.Submissions that: (1) deal solely with biological phenomena and do not describe the physico-chemical or colloid-chemical background and/or mechanism of the phenomena, and (2) deal solely with colloid/interfacial phenomena and do not have appropriate biological content or relevance, are outside the scope of the journal and will not be considered for publication.The journal publishes regular research papers, reviews, short communications and invited perspective articles, called BioInterface Perspectives. The BioInterface Perspective provide researchers the opportunity to review their own work, as well as provide insight into the work of others that inspired and influenced the author. Regular articles should have a maximum total length of 6,000 words. In addition, a (combined) maximum of 8 normal-sized figures and/or tables is allowed (so for instance 3 tables and 5 figures). For multiple-panel figures each set of two panels equates to one figure. Short communications should not exceed half of the above. It is required to give on the article cover page a short statistical summary of the article listing the total number of words and tables/figures.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Materials Science, Biomaterials
Editor-in-chief Dganit DaninoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 14 in mainland China (about 28%); most named Mainland China 14, United States 9, Canada 6, Japan 3, Netherlands 3 (50 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nanoparticle-Based Drug DeliveryMaterials Science9.5%
- Polymer Surface Interaction StudiesMaterials Science7.9%
- Lipid Membrane Structure and BehaviorBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.4%
- Nanoplatforms for cancer theranosticsEngineering6.2%
- Bone Tissue Engineering MaterialsEngineering5.5%
- Surfactants and Colloidal SystemsChemistry5.1%
- Advanced Drug Delivery SystemsPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics4.8%
- Advanced biosensing and bioanalysis techniquesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Biophysics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Biophysics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Physical | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Biophysics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Physical | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Biomaterials | Zone 3 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.9LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 10.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 10.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.95LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.95LetPub ·
- h-index
- 131LetPub ·
- h-index
- 226OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 10,868OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.39OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 15.06%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 772LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 15,659 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 725 | 102 | 442 |
| 2025 | 827 | 162 | 3,941 |
| 2024 | 639 | 133 | 7,431 |
| 2023 | 524 | 127 | 9,258 |
| 2022 | 722 | 134 | 16,219 |
| 2021 | 668 | 117 | 20,601 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
78 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 51 days – 105 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (99 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 80 days
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,851 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 3.3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 31%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 33 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 80 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,790 / EUR 3,550 / GBP 3,030 / JPY 470,070 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,120 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- biointerface perspectivesThe journal publishes regular research papers, reviews, short communications and invited perspective articles, called BioInterface Perspectives.Length not stated
- regular articlehat inspired and influenced the author. Regular articles should have a maximum total length of 6,000 words. In addition, a (combined) maximum of 8 normal-sized …main text ≤ 6,000 words
- regular articlesThe journal publishes regular research papers, reviews, short communications and invited perspective articles, called BioInterface Perspectives.Length not stated
- reviewsThe journal publishes regular research papers, reviews, short communications and invited perspective articles, called BioInterface Perspectives.Length not stated
- short communicationsThe journal publishes regular research papers, reviews, short communications and invited perspective articles, called BioInterface Perspectives.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Keywords in English Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data statement required Model summary
You are required to state the availability of any data at submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Publishing ethics policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1993
- ISSN
- 0927-7765
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-4367
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces
What CAS zone is Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Biophysics / Materials Science, Biomaterials. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.9; CiteScore 10.9, h-index 226.
How long does peer review take at Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 78 days (interquartile range 51–105 days); authors report an average review time of about 3.3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy (Elsevier website: 31%)”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces based?
Of the 50 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 14 (about 28%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (14), United States (9) and Canada (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces open access, and what is the APC?
Colloids and Surfaces B Biointerfaces is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,790.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .