Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
College Teaching
ISSN 8756-7555 · eISSN 1930-8299 · Taylor & Francis
College Teaching: subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; review about 74 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 18% (journal website); 64 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
College Teaching is published by Taylor & Francis. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Evaluation of Teaching Practices, Innovative Teaching Methods and Higher Education Research Studies, together about 47.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
College Teaching provides an interdisciplinary academic forum on issues in teaching and learning at the undergraduate or graduate level. The journal publishes three kinds of articles. Regular, full-length articles of up to 5,000 words reporting scholarship on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, assessment and evaluation, and other instructional practices that have significance beyond a single discipline. Full-length articles also describe innovative courses and curricula, faculty development programs, and contemporary developments. Commentaries, up to 1,200 words, provide thoughtful reflections on teaching. Peer Review Policy: All articles in this journal have undergone editorial screening and double anonymized peer review. Publication office: Taylor & Francis, LLC, 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA 19106
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 14, Australia 3, United States 1, South Africa 1, Mexico 1 (21 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences21.5%
- Innovative Teaching MethodsSocial Sciences18.4%
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences7.5%
- Student Assessment and FeedbackSocial Sciences5.8%
- Communication in Education and HealthcarePsychology4.7%
- Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology4.6%
- Higher Education Practises and EngagementSocial Sciences4.3%
- Innovative Teaching Methodologies in Social SciencesSocial Sciences3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q2 | 722/1698 | 57th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
ERICPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, OCLC, Canada in Context, De Gruyter Saur, Dietrich's Index Philosophicus, EBSCOhost, Academic Search Alumni Edition, Academic Search Complete, Academic Search Elite, Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Ultimate, Academic Search: Main Edition, Advanced Placement Source, Current Abstracts, Education Research Complete, Education Research Index, Education Source, MainFile, MasterFILE Complete, MasterFILE Elite, MasterFILE Premier, MasterFILE: Main Edition, OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson), Professional Development Collection, Professional Development Collection: Main Edition, Teacher Reference Center, TOC Premier (Table of Contents), ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), Gale, Academic OneFile, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.4LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.4Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.86LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.86Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 83OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 566OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.88OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 100,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,797 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 55 | 8 | 899 |
| 2025 | 64 | 7 | 1,392 |
| 2024 | 54 | 4 | 1,723 |
| 2023 | 61 | 7 | 1,929 |
| 2022 | 40 | 3 | 1,870 |
| 2021 | 74 | 8 | 1,971 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
74 daysfirst decision after review
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 18%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 74 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3, with length limits
- commentariesCommentaries, up to 1,200 words, provide thoughtful reflections on teaching.Length not stated
- commentaryrograms, and contemporary developments. Commentaries, up to 1,200 words, provide thoughtful reflections on teaching. Peer Review Pomain text ≤ 1,200 words
- regular, full-length articlesRegular, full-length articles of up to 5,000 words reporting scholarship on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, assessment and eva…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
College Teaching is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and reader…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All articles in this journal have undergone editorial screening and double anonymized peer review. Model summary
All articles in this journal have undergone editorial screening and double anonymized peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 8756-7555
- Electronic ISSN
- 1930-8299
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 74, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about College Teaching
How long does peer review take at College Teaching?
The publisher reports about 74 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 18%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of College Teaching based?
Of the 21 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (14), Australia (3) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index College Teaching?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, College Teaching is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is College Teaching open access, and what is the APC?
College Teaching is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .