Journal profile · Social Sciences-Library and Information Sciences
College and Research Libraries News
ISSN 0099-0086 · eISSN 2150-6698 · Association of College and Research Libraies
College and Research Libraries News: fully open access; 86 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
College and Research Libraries News is published by Association of College and Research Libraies. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Library Science and Information, Library Science and Information Literacy and Web and Library Services, together about 61.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Established in 1966, College & Research Libraries News (C&RL News) provides articles on the latest trends and practices affecting academic and research libraries and serves as the official newsmagazine and publication of record of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Monthly columns include Scholarly Communication, The Way I See It, Internet Resources, Grants and Acquisitions, and People in the News. Other regular features include ACRL TechConnect, Perspectives on the Framework, and Academic Library Workers in Conversation. C&RL News is published 11 times per year.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Library and Information Sciences
Editor-in-chief David FreePublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Library Science and InformationComputer Science29.5%
- Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences20.2%
- Web and Library ServicesComputer Science11.4%
- Library Science and AdministrationSocial Sciences11.1%
- Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science5.7%
- Digital and Traditional Archives ManagementArts and Humanities5.2%
- Information Science and LibrariesComputer Science4.3%
- Publishing and Scholarly CommunicationArts and Humanities2.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Library and Information Sciences | Q3 | 155/296 | 47th |
| Education | Q3 | 1092/1698 | 35th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.29LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.5LetPub ·
- h-index
- 39OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 288OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.7OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,030 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 339 |
| 2025 | 86 | 86 | 502 |
| 2024 | 133 | 133 | 658 |
| 2023 | 129 | 129 | 598 |
| 2022 | 152 | 152 | 645 |
| 2021 | 168 | 168 | 663 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3
- academic library workers in conversationAcademic Library Workers in Conversation Ariana Varela, Katie Perry A View from the Starting Line Early Tenure Track in LibrariesLength not stated
- featureFeature Dale Larsen, Lux Darkbloom, Kate Holvoet, Rebecca Nowicki, Crystal Goldman Policy, Procedure, and Perceptions Mapping the Sociomaterial in Academic Libr…Length not stated
- perspectives on the frameworkPerspectives on the Framework Sarah Morris Putting Algorithmic Literacy into Conversation with the ACRL FrameworkLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, Open access
- Publication ethics
Inclusion of an article or advertisement does not constitute official endorsement by ACRL or ALA. Model summary
Inclusion of an article or advertisement in C&RL News does not constitute official endorsement by ACRL or ALA.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Online-only publication since January 2022 Model summary
C&RL News became an online-only publication beginning with the January 2022 issue.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Association of College and Research Libraies
- ISSN
- 0099-0086
- Electronic ISSN
- 2150-6698
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about College and Research Libraries News
Which databases index College and Research Libraries News?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, College and Research Libraries News is indexed in Scopus.
Is College and Research Libraries News open access, and what is the APC?
College and Research Libraries News is a fully open-access journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .