Journal profile · INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Collection and Curation
ISSN 2514-9326 · eISSN 2514-9334 · Emerald
Collection and Curation: CAS Zone 4 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.8 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; 13 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Collection and Curation is published by Emerald and is in Zone 4 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Library Collection Development and Digital Resources, Digital and Traditional Archives Management and Library Science and Information Literacy, together about 36.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Collection and Curation provides well-researched and authoritative information on the rapidly changing conceptions of what collection development is in libraries, archives, museums and galleries. Also, its purpose, practice and issues arising.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Editor-in-chief Abigail PhillipsPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 8, India 3, Canada 3, Australia 3, United Kingdom 2 (23 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science13.6%
- Digital and Traditional Archives ManagementArts and Humanities11.9%
- Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences10.6%
- Library Science and AdministrationSocial Sciences8.1%
- scientometrics and bibliometrics researchDecision Sciences6.4%
- Technology Adoption and User BehaviourDecision Sciences6%
- Research Data Management PracticesComputer Science4.3%
- Museums and Cultural HeritageArts and Humanities3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.42LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.09LetPub ·
- h-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 27OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 23.81%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 9LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 62,004Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 149 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 13 | 6 | 13 |
| 2024 | 19 | 6 | 89 |
| 2023 | 15 | 5 | 72 |
| 2022 | 12 | 3 | 75 |
| 2021 | 16 | 1 | 100 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- case studyCase Study — up to 3000 wordsLength not stated
- editorialResearch Paper — up to 5000 words Viewpoint — up to 5000 words Case Study — up to 3000 words Literature Review — up to 5000 words General Review — up to 5000 wo…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- general reviewGeneral Review — up to 5000 wordsLength not stated
- literature reviewResearch Paper — up to 5000 words Viewpoint — up to 5000 words Case Study — up to 3000 words Literature Review — up to 5000 words General Review — up to 5000 wo…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- research paperResearch Paper — up to 5000 words Viewpoint — up to 5000 words Case Study — up to 3000 words Literature Review — up to 5000 words General Review — up to 5000 wo…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- reviewResearch Paper — up to 5000 words Viewpoint — up to 5000 words Case Study — up to 3000 words Literature Review — up to 5000 words General Review — up to 5000 wo…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- viewpointResearch Paper — up to 5000 words Viewpoint — up to 5000 words Case Study — up to 3000 words Literature Review — up to 5000 words General Review — up to 5000 wo…main text ≤ 5,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English. Model summary
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Please include up to 6 short, relevant keywords that describe the main topics of your paper. Model summary
Please include up to 6 short, relevant keywords that describe the main topics of your paper.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Article files should be provided in Microsoft Word format. Model summary
Article files should be provided in Microsoft Word format.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access options
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. Model summary
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and self-archive your article (at no cost to the author). Read more about our open access options.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review type
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers. Model summary
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Emerald
- ISSN
- 2514-9326
- Electronic ISSN
- 2514-9334
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 45, Issue 1 (January 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Collection and Curation
What CAS zone is Collection and Curation in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Collection and Curation is in Zone 4 of Management, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Information Science & Library Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Collection and Curation?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.9, h-index 15.
Where are the editorial board members of Collection and Curation based?
Of the 23 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), India (3) and Canada (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Collection and Curation?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Collection and Curation is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Collection and Curation open access, and what is the APC?
Collection and Curation is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .