Journal profile · Computer Science-Computer Science Applications
Cognitive Computation and Systems
ISSN 2517-7567 · Wiley · United Kingdom
Cognitive Computation and Systems: CAS Zone 4 · Computer Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,420; review about 403 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 1% (journal website); 5 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Cognitive Computation and Systems is published by Wiley and is in Zone 4 of Computer Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Music and Audio Processing, Robot Manipulation and Learning and Music Technology and Sound Studies, together about 21.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Cognitive Computation and Systems, a fully Gold Open Access journal, aims to attract original theoretical and experimental papers on the study of cognition systems. The journal acts as a forum for research in neurosciences, psychology, robotics, control science and computer science by integrating cognitive theoretical models and physical systems across different disciplines.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Computer Science-Computer Science Applications
Editor-in-chief Angelo CangelosiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 18 in mainland China (about 38%); most named Mainland China 18, United Kingdom 9, Italy 6, Germany 4, United States 2 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Music and Audio ProcessingComputer Science8.8%
- Robot Manipulation and LearningEngineering6.8%
- Music Technology and Sound StudiesComputer Science6.1%
- Advanced Neural Network ApplicationsComputer Science5.4%
- Robotics and Sensor-Based LocalizationEngineering4.8%
- EEG and Brain-Computer InterfacesNeuroscience4.8%
- Topic ModelingComputer Science4.1%
- Video Surveillance and Tracking MethodsComputer Science4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Computer Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Computer Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Robotics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Computer Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Computer Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Robotics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EI CompendexWeb of ScienceINSPECPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.46LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 18OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 40OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.92OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 2LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 2Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 46,051Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 177 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| 2025 | 5 | 5 | 19 |
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 75 |
| 2023 | 29 | 29 | 202 |
| 2022 | 40 | 40 | 231 |
| 2021 | 38 | 38 | 314 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
Too few articlesOnly 5 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 1%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 1%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 64 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 64 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 403 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,420 / GBP 1,990 / EUR 2,560 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-ND, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,200 / EUR 2,327 / GBP 1,813 | — | — | |
| LetPub | EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,700 / USD 2,200 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Chicago
Article types accepted10
- case studyCase Study Report on a specific instance of an interesting or particular phenomenon or instance related to research areas covered by a journal’s scope.Length not stated
- commentaryThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- industry articleIndustry Article A report from industrial-based scientists undertaking R&D on a new technology, application or technique which may facilitate future product dev…Length not stated
- opinionThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- original researchThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- original research paperThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- perspectiveThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- research articleThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- reviewThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
- review articleThe following article types are included in Cognitive Computation and Systems: Original Research Paper Report of original research findings and data. Review Cri…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving
- Authorship Authorship
For a complete overview of our Ethical Policies for the IET journals, please click here. The IET believes in clear, transparent and verifiable authorship. All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version. Where possible, please use institutional email addresses for all authors listed on your manuscript. If we are unable to co…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
Data sharing expected Model summary
IET journals expects data sharing. Please review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is your responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms and Conditions FAQ. The corresponding author is responsible for obtaining written permission to reproduce the material "in print an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 1. Open Access
All IET journals are Gold Open Access titles. Submissions will be subject to an APC if accepted and published in the journal. You can read more about APCs and whether you may be eligible for waivers or discounts, through your institution, funder, or a country waiver. There is no charge for submitting to IET journals.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 5. Peer Review and Decisions
Cognitive Computation and Systems operates under a single-anonymized peer review model. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief (or designated Editor) determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. Except where otherwise stated, peer review is handled by an Associate Editor, who will engage at least two anonymous reviewers. The final decision …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint Policy
Preprints accepted Model summary
Please find the Wiley preprint policy here. All IET journals accept articles previously published on preprint servers. All IET journals will consider review articles previously available as preprints. You are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article. You may also post the final published version of the article immediately after publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Green OA deposit without embargo Model summary
Authors can deposit all versions of their manuscript in an institutional repository, or other repository of their choice, without embargo.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2517-7567
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 8, Issue 1 (December 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Cognitive Computation and Systems
What CAS zone is Cognitive Computation and Systems in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Cognitive Computation and Systems is in Zone 4 of Computer Science, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence / Robotics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Computer Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Cognitive Computation and Systems?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.2 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.4, h-index 18.
How long does peer review take at Cognitive Computation and Systems?
The publisher reports about 403 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 1% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Cognitive Computation and Systems based?
Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 18 (about 38%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (18), United Kingdom (9) and Italy (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Cognitive Computation and Systems?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Cognitive Computation and Systems is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex, Web of Science and INSPEC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Cognitive Computation and Systems open access, and what is the APC?
Cognitive Computation and Systems is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,420.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .