Journal profile · Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow
ISSN 2383-8337 · eISSN 2288-8721 · Korean Shoulder and Elbow Society · Korea, Republic of
Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.5 (journal website); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 81 days to acceptance (85 articles, last 24 months); 63 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow is published by Korean Shoulder and Elbow Society and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Shoulder Injury and Treatment, Shoulder and Clavicle Injuries and Nerve Injury and Rehabilitation, together about 63.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
It aims: first, to contribute to the management and education of shoulder and elbow topics; second, to share the latest scientific information among international societies; and finally, to promote communications on shoulder/elbow problems and patient care. Its scope includes basic and clinical research, focusing on the etiology and epidemiology, biomechanics and pathogenesis, management and surgery, complication and prognosis for the disease of shoulder and elbow. Its regional scope is mainly Asia but it welcomes submissions from researchers all over the world. Its main publication types are original articles, case reports, invited review articles, editorials, and letters to the editor. Other types are negotiable also with editor-in-chief.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Editor-in-chief Hyung Bin Park GyeongsangPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named South Korea 36, United States 4, Japan 2, Spain 2, Malaysia 2 (61 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine32.1%
- Shoulder and Clavicle InjuriesMedicine23.2%
- Nerve Injury and RehabilitationMedicine8.1%
- Elbow and Forearm Trauma TreatmentMedicine7.6%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine6.6%
- Trauma Management and DiagnosisMedicine5.9%
- Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine2.7%
- Musculoskeletal synovial abnormalities and treatmentsMedicine1.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPubMedPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, Crossref, Korea Citation Index (KCI), KoreaMed, KoMCI
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.89LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.48LetPub ·
- h-index
- 23OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 112OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.38OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 60LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,127 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 42 | 42 | 7 |
| 2025 | 63 | 63 | 125 |
| 2024 | 63 | 63 | 267 |
| 2023 | 62 | 62 | 465 |
| 2022 | 61 | 61 | 424 |
| 2021 | 46 | 46 | 484 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
81 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 61 days – 103 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 95 days (85 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 191 days
- Sample
- 85 articles with submission and acceptance dates (127 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Other fees
- No other fees
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- case reportCase ReportLength not stated
- editorialtes in the field of orthopedic surgery. Editorials should not exceed 1,000 words, excluding references, tables, and figures. A maximum of 10main text ≤ 1,000 words
- letters to the editorurnal or orthopedic topics of interest. Letters to the editor should not exceed 1,000 words, excluding references, tables, and figures. A maximum of 5main text ≤ 1,000 words
- original articleOriginal ArticleLength not stated
- othersOthersLength not stated
- reviewReviewLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Data availability
Data sharing encouraged Model summary
CiSE encourages data sharing wherever possible unless this is prevented by ethical, privacy, or confidentiality matters.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under CC BY-NC 4.0 Model summary
CiSE is an open-access journal. Articles are distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/)
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 5. MANUSCRIPT SUBMISSION AND PEER-REVIEW PROCESS
Double-blind peer review Model summary
Online Submission All manuscripts should be submitted online via the journal’s website (https://submit.cisejournal.org/) by the corresponding author. Once you have logged into your account, the online system will lead you through the submission process step by step. In case of any trouble, please contact the editorial office (Email: journal@cisejournal.org). Screening after Submission The screenin…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism screening via Crossref Similarity Check Model summary
Upon receipt, submitted manuscripts are screened for possible plagiarism or duplicate publication using Crossref Similarity Check.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Clinical trial registration recommended Model summary
It is recommended that any research that deals with a clinical trial be registered with a clinical trial registration site
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Korean Shoulder and Elbow Society
- Country or region
- Korea, Republic of
- Language
- English, Korean
- ISSN
- 2383-8337
- Electronic ISSN
- 2288-8721
- Society / sponsor
- Korean Shoulder and Elbow Society
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 29 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow
What CAS zone is Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 23.
How long does peer review take at Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow?
Based on the dates recorded on 85 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 81 days (interquartile range 61–103 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow based?
Of the 61 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (36), United States (4) and Japan (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow open access, and what is the APC?
Clinics in Shoulder and Elbow is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .