Journal profile · GASTROENTEROLOGY & HEPATOLOGY
Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology
ISSN 2210-7401 · eISSN 2210-741X · Elsevier Masson · FRANCE · Founded 2011
Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.57; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,260; median 52 days to acceptance (105 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 199 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology is published by Elsevier Masson and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Liver Disease Diagnosis and Treatment, Liver Disease and Transplantation and Hepatocellular Carcinoma Treatment and Prognosis, together about 30.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hepatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology publishes high-quality original research papers in the field of hepatology and gastroenterology. The editors put the accent on rapid communication of new research and clinical developments and so called "hot topic" issues. Following a clear Editorial line, besides original articles and case reports, each issue features editorials, commentaries and reviews. The journal encourages research and discussion between all those involved in the specialty on an international level. All articles are peer reviewed by international experts, the articles in press are online and indexed in the international databases (Current Contents, Pubmed, Scopus, Science Direct).Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology is a subscription journal (with optional open access), which allows you to publish your research without any cost to you (unless you proactively chose the open access option). Your article will be available to all researchers around the globe whose institution has a subscription to the journal. If you chose the open access option, there is an associated Article Publishing Charge (APC) which is detailed here: https://www.sciencedirect.com/journal/clinics-and-research-in-hepatology-and-gastroenterology/publish/open-access-options.Published in association with the Journal of Liver Transplantion.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): GASTROENTEROLOGY & HEPATOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Yvon CalmusPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named France 41, Italy 13, Spain 7, United Kingdom 4, Netherlands 2 (77 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Liver Disease Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine14.6%
- Liver Disease and TransplantationMedicine9.2%
- Hepatocellular Carcinoma Treatment and PrognosisMedicine6.7%
- Hepatitis C virus researchMedicine5.9%
- Liver Diseases and ImmunityMedicine5.8%
- Hepatitis B Virus StudiesMedicine5%
- Organ Transplantation Techniques and OutcomesMedicine4.2%
- Pediatric Hepatobiliary Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Gastroenterology & Hepatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Gastroenterology & Hepatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Gastroenterology & Hepatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PubMedCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Science Direct
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.57LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.79LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.63LetPub ·
- h-index
- 51LetPub ·
- h-index
- 71OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,014OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.07OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 19.63%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 112LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,847 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 161 | 34 | 38 |
| 2025 | 199 | 40 | 328 |
| 2024 | 216 | 59 | 826 |
| 2023 | 173 | 55 | 967 |
| 2022 | 174 | 60 | 1,096 |
| 2021 | 254 | 74 | 2,917 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
52 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 24 days – 97 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (105 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 55 days
- Sample
- 105 articles with submission and acceptance dates (368 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 33 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 60 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,260 / EUR 2,970 / GBP 2,610 / JPY 404,340 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,620 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
- Liver diseases of genetic originDeadline
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Suggested reviewers
- Required, 3
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- case reportsCASE REPORTS should not report isolated clinical cases because these should be submitted as Letters to the editor.Length not stated
- clinical challengesCLINICAL CHALLENGES considers a step-by-step process of clinical decision making.Length not stated
- commentariesCOMMENTARIES are brief comments not exceeding 1,200 words that could be accompanied by one figure aimed to discuss recent published clinical or basic papers.main text ≤ 1,200 words
- commentarynd presents the discussion of the case. COMMENTARIES are brief comments not exceeding 1,200 words that could be accompanied by one figure aimed to discuss remain text ≤ 1,200 words
- editorialjournal or elsewhere. The length of an editorial should not exceed 1,500 words excluding references. Please limit reference count to a maxmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- editorialsEDITORIALS are invited comments on topically issues in liver diseases or major articles published in the journal or elsewhere.Length not stated
- expert opinionsEXPERT OPINIONS are invited short articles that present a summary of data around a hot topic, followed by a discussion on developments that can become important…Length not stated
- image of the monthIMAGE OF THE MONTH is a striking clinical image that is meant to challenge and inform readers.Length not stated
- letterORIGINAL ARTICLESare full-length reports of original research and will be considered for either the Clinical-Alimentary Tract or Clinical-Liver/Pancreas/Biliary…Length not stated
- letters to the editorORIGINAL ARTICLESare full-length reports of original research and will be considered for either the Clinical-Alimentary Tract or Clinical-Liver/Pancreas/Biliary…Length not stated
- original articlesORIGINAL ARTICLES are full-length reports of original research and will be considered for either the Clinical-Alimentary Tract or Clinical-Liver/Pancreas/Biliar…Length not stated
- original researchORIGINAL ARTICLESare full-length reports of original research and will be considered for either the Clinical-Alimentary Tract or Clinical-Liver/Pancreas/Biliary…Length not stated
- practice guidelinesPRACTICE GUIDELINES Recommendations of general interest to the community.Length not stated
- review articleORIGINAL ARTICLESare full-length reports of original research and will be considered for either the Clinical-Alimentary Tract or Clinical-Liver/Pancreas/Biliary…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- reviewsREVIEWS focus on clinical and basic topics of interest for the readers of the journal.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Publishing ethics policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Masson
- Country or region
- FRANCE
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2011
- ISSN
- 2210-7401
- Electronic ISSN
- 2210-741X
- Society / sponsor
- Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology
What CAS zone is Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Gastroenterology & Hepatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.57; CiteScore 4.7, h-index 71.
How long does peer review take at Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology?
Based on the dates recorded on 105 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 52 days (interquartile range 24–97 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Suggested reviewers: Required, 3; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology based?
Of the 77 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (41), Italy (13) and Spain (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists PubMed and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology open access, and what is the APC?
Clinics and Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,260.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .