Journal profile · Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging
Clinical Radiology
ISSN 0009-9260 · eISSN 1365-229X · W.B. Saunders Ltd · ENGLAND · Monthly
Clinical Radiology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,530; median 156 days to acceptance (106 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 388 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinical Radiology is published by W.B. Saunders Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Radiology practices and education, Radiation Dose and Imaging and Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical Imaging, together about 23.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Clinical Radiology is published by Elsevier on behalf of The Royal College of Radiologists. Clinical Radiology is an International Journal bringing you original research, editorials and review articles on all aspects of diagnostic imaging, including:• Computed tomography • Magnetic resonance imaging • Ultrasonography • Digital radiology • Interventional radiology • Radiography • Nuclear medicinePapers on radiological protection, quality assurance, audit in radiology and matters relating to radiological training and education are also included. In addition, each issue contains correspondence, book reviews and notices of forthcoming events.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging
Editor-in-chief Ashley ShawPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 90, India 9, United States 7, Singapore 7, Italy 4 (123 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Radiology practices and educationMedicine8.8%
- Radiation Dose and ImagingMedicine8.3%
- Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical ImagingMedicine6.5%
- MRI in cancer diagnosisMedicine5.8%
- Advanced X-ray and CT ImagingEngineering5.2%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.6%
- Advanced MRI Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine4.4%
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.62LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.84LetPub ·
- h-index
- 82LetPub ·
- h-index
- 143OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 6,433OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.8OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 10.77%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 275LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 18,592 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 233 | 36 | 17 |
| 2025 | 388 | 115 | 457 |
| 2024 | 327 | 279 | 1,234 |
| 2023 | 332 | 289 | 1,959 |
| 2022 | 536 | 85 | 2,005 |
| 2021 | 292 | 64 | 2,815 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
156 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 108 days – 202 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 5 days (106 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 162 days
- Sample
- 106 articles with submission and acceptance dates (625 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- First decision after review
- 75 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 161 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,530 / EUR 3,300 / GBP 2,830 / JPY 437,830 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,530 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- case reportClinical Radiology invites submission of the following: Original Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustr…Length not stated
- editorialClinical Radiology invites submission of the following: Original Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustr…Length not stated
- original paperClinical Radiology invites submission of the following: Original Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustr…main text ≤ 3,500 words
- original papersOriginal Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustrations, which will be printed at single column width.Length not stated
- pictorial reviewsPictorial Reviews* should not exceed 2,500 words and should include no more than 20 illustrations (single frame) which will be published at single column width.Length not stated
- reviewClinical Radiology invites submission of the following: Original Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustr…main text ≤ 2,500 words
- review articleClinical Radiology invites submission of the following: Original Papers should be no more than 3,500 words in length, and should contain no more than 10 illustr…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- review articlesReview Articles* should not exceed 4,000 words and should include no more than 10 illustrations, which will be printed no larger than the width of a single colu…Length not stated
- technical reportsTechnical Reports should be no more than 2,000 words in length with no more than 10 illustrations.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- W.B. Saunders Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- ISSN
- 0009-9260
- Electronic ISSN
- 1365-229X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinical Radiology
What CAS zone is Clinical Radiology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Radiology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Clinical Radiology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 143.
How long does peer review take at Clinical Radiology?
Based on the dates recorded on 106 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 156 days (interquartile range 108–202 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Radiology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Radiology based?
Of the 123 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (90), India (9) and United States (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinical Radiology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Radiology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Clinical Radiology open access, and what is the APC?
Clinical Radiology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,530.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .