Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics
Clinical Nutrition
ISSN 0261-5614 · eISSN 1532-1983 · Churchill Livingstone · SCOTLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1982
Clinical Nutrition: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 7.8; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,320; median 104 days to acceptance (114 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 346 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinical Nutrition is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutrition and Health in Aging, Clinical Nutrition and Gastroenterology and Diet and metabolism studies, together about 52.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Physiology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Journal of ESPEN, The European Society for Clinical Nutrition and MetabolismClinical Nutrition, the official journal of ESPEN, The European Society for Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism, is an international journal providing essential scientific information on nutritional and metabolic care and the relationship between nutrition and disease both in the setting of basic science and clinical practice. Published monthly, each issue combines original articles and reviews providing an invaluable reference for any specialist concerned with these fields.Nutrition and nutritional care have gained wide clinical and scientific interest during the past decades. The increasing knowledge of metabolic disturbances and nutritional assessment in chronic and acute diseases has stimulated rapid advances in design, development and clinical application of nutritional support. The aims of ESPEN are to encourage the rapid diffusion of knowledge and its application in the field of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition or, more broadly, Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism.Being the journal of ESPEN with members from various interests, either focused on basic research or clinical disciplines, the journal reflects the scientific nature of this multidisciplinary background and encourages the coordination of investigation and research from these disciplines. The journal publishes guidelines, consensus statements, original articles, short communications, letters to the Editor and review papers on those factors in acute and chronic diseases, which have metabolic and nutritional implications. It also publishes scientific works related to the development of new techniques and their application in the field of clinical nutrition.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics
Editor-in-chief Osman AbbasogluPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named France 23, United Kingdom 19, Germany 19, United States 17, Italy 15 (222 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine23.4%
- Clinical Nutrition and GastroenterologyNursing20.1%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine8.8%
- Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine5.2%
- Body Composition Measurement TechniquesMedicine4.4%
- Muscle metabolism and nutritionBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.8%
- Metabolism and Genetic DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.6%
- Liver Disease Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Index MedicusPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 7.8LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 7.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 13.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 13.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.42LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.32LetPub ·
- h-index
- 121LetPub ·
- h-index
- 226OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 5,019OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 6.32OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 37.99%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 289LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 17,425 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 237 | 133 | 156 |
| 2025 | 346 | 196 | 1,880 |
| 2024 | 464 | 196 | 4,579 |
| 2023 | 341 | 185 | 7,529 |
| 2022 | 348 | 179 | 9,843 |
| 2021 | 489 | 243 | 18,046 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
104 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 69 days – 158 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 6 days (114 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 109 days
- Sample
- 114 articles with submission and acceptance dates (711 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 47 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 126 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,320 / EUR 3,110 / GBP 2,660 / JPY 411,780 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,420 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- MLA
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted12, with length limits
- case studiesOnly CNE accepts case studies.Length not stated
- editorialAn Editorial is submitted by member(s) of the Editorial Board and handled by the Editors. Is by invitation from the Editors. Short Communication Short Communica…main text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 10
- educational papersEducational papersLength not stated
- espen endorsed recommendationESPEN Endorsed RecommendationLength not stated
- espen guidelinesESPEN GuidelinesLength not stated
- full length articleFull Length Articles are original research and/or clinical studies.Length not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the Editor contains comments on previously published articles (not longer than 6 months old) in the respective journal. When a letter refers to an art…main text ≤ 500 words
- narrative reviewArticles are publications that describe and discuss the state of the science of a specific topic or theme from a theoretical and contextual point of view.Length not stated
- protocolOnly CNE accepts protocols. Study protocol articles will generally only be considered for proposed or ongoing trials that have not completed participant recruit…Length not stated
- protocolsProtocolsLength not stated
- report of espen special interest groups (sig)Report of ESPEN Special Interest Groups (SIG)Length not stated
- short communicationShort Communications are about original research and /or clinical studies that do not require a full paper, but are completed studies. However, the editorial bo…main text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 10
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors may use generative artificial intelligence (AI) and AI-assisted technologies in the writing process to improve readability and language. We suggest that applying this technology should be done with human oversight and control, and authors should carefully review and edit the result, as AI can generate authoritative-sounding output that can be incorrect, incomplete or biased. AI and AI-assi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Changes to authorship
Authors are expected to carefully consider the list and order of authors before submitting their manuscript and provide the definitive list of authors at the time of the original submission. Any addition, deletion or rearrangement of author names in the authorship list should be made only before the manuscript has been accepted and only if approved by the journal Editor. To request such a change, …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding 6 author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or link to the online version of this agreement. Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles inclu…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Gold open access
Gold open access available Model summary
Articles are freely available to both subscribers and the wider public with permitted reuse. A Gold Open Access publication fee is payable by authors or on their behalf (e.g. by their research funder or institution). Elsevier has established a number of agreements with funding bodies which allow authors to comply with their funder's open access policies. Some funding bodies will reimburse the auth…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single blind peer review Model summary
This journal operates a single blind review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editors are responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editors' decisi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprints can be shared anywhere at any time Model summary
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints (e.g. on a preprint server) will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Green Open Access (self-archiving)
Authors can share their research in a variety of different ways and Elsevier has a number of Green Open Access options available. We recommend authors see our Open Access page for further information.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines File type: CONSORT Agreement Checklist
All Randomized controlled Trials submitted for publication should include a completed Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (CONSORT) checklist. Please refer to the CONSORT statement website for more information. The checklist can also be downloaded from here. You will be asked to upload this completed checklist at the time of submission and this file is mandatory for submission. In addition,…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Churchill Livingstone
- Country or region
- SCOTLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1982
- ISSN
- 0261-5614
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-1983
- Society / sponsor
- ESPEN
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinical Nutrition
What CAS zone is Clinical Nutrition in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Nutrition is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Clinical Nutrition?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 7.8; CiteScore 13.9, h-index 226.
How long does peer review take at Clinical Nutrition?
Based on the dates recorded on 114 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 104 days (interquartile range 69–158 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Nutrition?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: MLA; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Nutrition based?
Of the 222 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (23), United Kingdom (19) and Germany (19). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinical Nutrition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Nutrition is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Clinical Nutrition open access, and what is the APC?
Clinical Nutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,320.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .