Journal profile · Medicine-Infectious Diseases
Clinical Infection in Practice
ISSN 2590-1702 · Elsevier · United Kingdom
Clinical Infection in Practice: impact factor 10 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; review about 42 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 116 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinical Infection in Practice is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Infective Endocarditis Diagnosis and Management, Infectious Diseases and Tuberculosis and Streptococcal Infections and Treatments, together about 17.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Infectious Diseases. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
An Official Journal of the British Infection AssociationThis companion title to the highly-regarded Journal of Infection, provides a forum for the advancement of knowledge and discussion of clinical infection in practice. It embraces relevant clinical research and clinical management issues, including case reports and case series demonstrating novel or interesting findings. This is of particular value in a field where clinicians are often faced with relatively rare conditions or clinical problems where the only supportive literature is at case report level. It is aimed at all specialists and trainees working in clinical infection-related disciplines including Clinical Microbiologists/Virologists, Infectious Diseases and Tropical Disease physicians, Public Health Specialists and supporting professional staff. The Journal publishes high-quality peer-reviewed clinically relevant research and case-based reports. Its aims are as follows:To publish high quality clinical research, of direct relevance to practising infection specialists, with an international scope.To publish state of the art reviews of areas of current clinical and research interest.To publish novel case reports of high educational value with relevant learning points.To publish educational and relevant clinical audit and quality improvement projects.To facilitate clinical decision making by publishing clinic-pathological conferences, illustrative case histories (with questions and learning points), and clinical images of high educational value and relevance.To facilitate problem-based learning and help trainees prepare for professional examinations including FRCPath (CICE) and international equivalent assessments.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Infectious Diseases
Editor-in-chief Martin WiselkaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 24, India 4, New Zealand 3, Singapore 2 (33 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Infective Endocarditis Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine6.4%
- Infectious Diseases and TuberculosisMedicine5.7%
- Streptococcal Infections and TreatmentsMedicine5.4%
- Fungal Infections and StudiesMedicine5%
- Tuberculosis Research and EpidemiologyMedicine4.8%
- Antifungal resistance and susceptibilityMedicine4.8%
- Antimicrobial Resistance in StaphylococcusMedicine4.8%
- Bacterial Infections and VaccinesImmunology and Microbiology4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 10Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.4LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 32OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.61OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 709 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 204 | 204 | 4 |
| 2025 | 116 | 116 | 48 |
| 2024 | 64 | 64 | 184 |
| 2023 | 118 | 118 | 91 |
| 2022 | 98 | 98 | 238 |
| 2021 | 50 | 50 | 231 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
42 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 22 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 22 weeksLetPub ·
- First decision after review
- 51 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 42 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,000 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,000 / EUR 1,870 / GBP 1,600 / JPY 248,060 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,000 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Templates
- LaTeX and Word
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- case reportSurvey Articles, Case Reports and Series, and Clinical Audits/Service Improvements:Structured abstracts, with the following sections: Background, Case Report, R…Length not stated
- case reports: image challengeCase Reports: Image Challenge We invite authors to submit case reports with an interesting image (e.g. patient, rash, radiology, pathology, video clip) with an …Length not stated
- letterSurvey Articles, Case Reports and Series, and Clinical Audits/Service Improvements:Structured abstracts, with the following sections: Background, Case Report, R…Length not stated
- letters to the editor5 tables or figures, and up to 70 refs. Letters to the editor Less than 1000 words in length Less than 10 references Maximum of 2 figures or tmain text ≤ 1,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 2 · references ≤ 10
- original research articlesOriginal Research Articles Unstructured abstract of up to 300 words Body of the article: maximum of 5,000 words, including up to 5 tables or figures, and up to …Length not stated
- surveySurvey Articles, Case Reports and Series, and Clinical Audits/Service Improvements:Structured abstracts, with the following sections: Background, Case Report, R…main text ≤ 300 words · figures and tables ≤ 5 · references ≤ 20
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2590-1702
- Society / sponsor
- British Infection Association
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinical Infection in Practice
What is the impact factor of Clinical Infection in Practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 10; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.4, h-index 14.
How long does peer review take at Clinical Infection in Practice?
The publisher reports about 42 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 22 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Infection in Practice?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Templates: LaTeX and Word; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Infection in Practice based?
Of the 33 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (24), India (4) and New Zealand (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinical Infection in Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Infection in Practice is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Clinical Infection in Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Clinical Infection in Practice is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .