Journal profile · PERIPHERAL VASCULAR DISEASE
Clinical Hypertension
ISSN 2056-5909 · BMC · United Kingdom
Clinical Hypertension: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 94 days to acceptance (81 articles, last 24 months); 46 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinical Hypertension is published by BMC and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Blood Pressure and Hypertension Studies, Sodium Intake and Health and Cardiovascular Health and Disease Prevention, together about 48% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Clinical Hypertension is the official journal of the Korean Society of Hypertension, Korean Society of Pulmonary Hypertension. Clinical Hypertension is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that aims to publish in all areas of hypertension and vascular disorders. We aim to ensure the widest possible dissemination of research throughout the hypertension community. The journal focuses on areas within vascular biology, cellular and molecular biology, clinical hypertension, epidemiology, nephrology, endocrinology, neuroscience, pharmacology, genetics, pediatric hypertension and basic science. Clinical Hypertension is a continuation of the Korean journal, Journal of the Korean Society of Hypertension. The journal adopts a continuous online publication model, with 2–4 articles published monthly, commencing from the start of each calendar year.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PERIPHERAL VASCULAR DISEASE
Editor-in-chief Wook-Bum PyunPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 3%); most named South Korea 53, United States 5, Japan 4, Mainland China 2, Australia 2 (75 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Blood Pressure and Hypertension StudiesMedicine30.2%
- Sodium Intake and HealthNursing10.7%
- Cardiovascular Health and Disease PreventionMedicine7.1%
- Heart Rate Variability and Autonomic ControlMedicine5.2%
- Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine3.7%
- Heart rate and cardiovascular healthMedicine3.4%
- Renin-Angiotensin System StudiesMedicine3.2%
- Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine3.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePMCPubMedEmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, KoreaMed, Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.91LetPub ·
- h-index
- 39OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 155OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.89OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 37LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 4Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 382 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 38 | 38 | 20 |
| 2025 | 46 | 46 | 148 |
| 2024 | 37 | 37 | 424 |
| 2023 | 33 | 33 | 865 |
| 2022 | 41 | 41 | 458 |
| 2021 | 26 | 26 | 528 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 66 days – 132 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 38 days (81 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 139 days
- Sample
- 81 articles with submission and acceptance dates (84 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 6 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 6 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 0 | — | — | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- letter to the editorLetter to the EditorLength not stated
- research articleResearch ArticleLength not stated
- retractionRetractionLength not stated
- reviewReviewLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
- Peer review
Editorial policies must be read and agreed to before submission. Model summary
Read and agree to our Editorial Policies - Editorial policies
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMC
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2056-5909
- Society / sponsor
- Korean Society of Hypertension
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 32 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinical Hypertension
What CAS zone is Clinical Hypertension in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Hypertension is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Peripheral Vascular Disease. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Clinical Hypertension?
Based on the dates recorded on 81 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 66–132 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Hypertension based?
Of the 75 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (53), United States (5) and Japan (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinical Hypertension?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Hypertension is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, PMC, PubMed, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Clinical Hypertension open access, and what is the APC?
Clinical Hypertension is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .