Journal profile · PSYCHOLOGY, CLINICAL
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review
ISSN 1096-4037 · eISSN 1573-2827 · Springer Nature · 4 issues per year
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review: CAS Zone 1 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 7.85; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,990; review about 17 days (submission to first decision, publisher); 42 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Child Abuse and Trauma and Family and Disability Support Research, together about 42.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Lara Farrell, Griffith University Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that provides an international, interdisciplinary forum in which important and new developments in this field are identified and in-depth reviews on current thought and practices are published. The Journal publishes original research reviews, conceptual and theoretical papers, and related work in the broad area of the behavioral sciences that pertains to infants, children, adolescents, and families. Contributions originate from a wide array of disciplines including, but not limited to, psychology (e.g., clinical, community, developmental, family, school), medicine (e.g., family practice, pediatrics, psychiatry), public health, social work, and education. Topical content includes science and application and covers facets of etiology, assessment, description, treatment and intervention, prevention, methodology, and public policy.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PSYCHOLOGY, CLINICAL
Editor-in-chief Lara J. FarrellPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 28, Australia 11, United Kingdom 4, Netherlands 2, Japan 1 (50 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology28.5%
- Child Abuse and TraumaPsychology7.4%
- Family and Disability Support ResearchPsychology6.9%
- Early Childhood Education and DevelopmentSocial Sciences6.3%
- Maternal Mental Health During Pregnancy and PostpartumMedicine5.2%
- Attachment and Relationship DynamicsPsychology4.7%
- Autism Spectrum Disorder ResearchNeuroscience4.4%
- Anxiety, Depression, Psychometrics, Treatment, Cognitive ProcessesPsychology4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Psychology, Clinical | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Psychology, Clinical | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Psychology, Clinical | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: yes
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
SCIEMEDLINEPsycINFOERIH PLUSCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, AGRICOLA, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 7.85LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 7.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 10.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 11.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.83LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 3.37LetPub ·
- h-index
- 151OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 563OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 9.11OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 1.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 63.78%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 42LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,025Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 910,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 713 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 35 | 24 | 24 |
| 2025 | 42 | 32 | 276 |
| 2024 | 45 | 37 | 811 |
| 2023 | 44 | 32 | 1,261 |
| 2022 | 47 | 31 | 1,753 |
| 2021 | 42 | 25 | 2,041 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
Too few articlesOnly 2 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Figures by source
- Submission to first decision
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,990 / EUR 2,990 / GBP 2,590 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted4
- conceptual/theoretical papersReview Papers, Conceptual/Theoretical Papers, Issue-Focused Papers.Length not stated
- issue-focused papersReview Papers, Conceptual/Theoretical Papers, Issue-Focused Papers.Length not stated
- reviewReview Papers, Conceptual/Theoretical Papers, Issue-Focused Papers. Back to topLength not stated
- review papersReview Papers, Conceptual/Theoretical Papers, Issue-Focused Papers.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability statements
All original research must include a data availability statement. This statement should explain how to access data supporting the results and analysis in the article, including links/citations to publicly archived datasets analysed or generated during the study. Please see our full policy here. If it is not possible to share research data publicly, for instance when individual privacy could be com…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Single-blind peer review
Single-blind peer review Model summary
This journal follows a single-blind reviewing procedure. This journal also publishes special/guest-edited issues. The peer review process for these articles is the same as the peer review process of the journal in general. Additionally, if a guest editor authors an article in their issue/collection, they will not handle the peer review process. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 4 issues per year
- ISSN
- 1096-4037
- Electronic ISSN
- 1573-2827
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 29, Issue 3 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review
What CAS zone is Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is in Zone 1 of Psychology, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Psychology, Clinical; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 7.85; CiteScore 11.6, h-index 151.
How long does peer review take at Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review?
The publisher reports about 17 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Reference style: Author–date; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review based?
Of the 50 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (28), Australia (11) and United Kingdom (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists SCIE, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, ERIH PLUS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review open access, and what is the APC?
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .