Journal profile · Social Sciences-Sociology and Political Science
Citizenship, Social and Economics Education
ISSN 2047-1734 · SAGE
Citizenship, Social and Economics Education: subscription journal; APC about USD 3,400; review about 223 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 19.8% (journal website); 25 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Citizenship, Social and Economics Education is published by SAGE. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Educator Training and Historical Pedagogy, Citizenship Education and Democracy and Global Education and Multiculturalism, together about 46.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education and Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Citizenship, Social and Economics Education (CSEE) is the official journal of the International Association for Citizenship, Social and Economics Education. CSEE is an online-only, peer-reviewed journal that provides a focus for scholarly and professional studies in the fields of education, socialisation, curriculum development and aspects of … | View full journal description
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Sociology and Political Science
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United Kingdom 12, United States 5, New Zealand 3, Mainland China 2, Hong Kong, China 2 (35 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences20.6%
- Citizenship Education and DemocracySocial Sciences19.1%
- Global Education and MulticulturalismSocial Sciences6.7%
- Financial Literacy, Pension, Retirement AnalysisBusiness, Management and Accounting6.2%
- Educational Theory and Curriculum StudiesSocial Sciences6%
- Peace and Human Rights EducationSocial Sciences5.2%
- Innovative Teaching Methodologies in Social SciencesSocial Sciences5.1%
- Values and Moral EducationSocial Sciences4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sociology and Political Science | Q2 | 536/1530 | 65th |
| General Economics, Econometrics and Finance | Q2 | 107/289 | 62nd |
| Education | Q2 | 789/1698 | 53rd |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.14LetPub ·
- h-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 95OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.22OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 494 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 8 | 266 |
| 2025 | 25 | 17 | 374 |
| 2024 | 12 | 9 | 404 |
| 2023 | 13 | 9 | 461 |
| 2022 | 8 | 2 | 371 |
| 2021 | 17 | 10 | 396 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
223 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 19.8%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 223 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 23 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,400 / GBP 2,493 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted2
- academic articlesAcademic articles of about 7,000 wordsLength not stated
- interchanges and responses to articlesInterchanges and responses to articles, up to 2,000 wordsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. Open Access agreement …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal endorses the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment. However, consistent with the AllTrials campaign, retrospectively registered trials will be considered if the justification for late registration is acceptable. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 2047-1734
- Print ISSN
- 1478-8047
- Society / sponsor
- International Association for Citizenship
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Citizenship, Social and Economics Education
How long does peer review take at Citizenship, Social and Economics Education?
The publisher reports about 223 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 19.8%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Citizenship, Social and Economics Education?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Citizenship, Social and Economics Education based?
Of the 35 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (12), United States (5) and New Zealand (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Citizenship, Social and Economics Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Citizenship, Social and Economics Education is indexed in Scopus.
Is Citizenship, Social and Economics Education open access, and what is the APC?
Citizenship, Social and Economics Education is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,400.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .