Journal profile · Medicine-Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies
ISSN 2045-709X · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Founded 2005
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.4; fully open access; APC about USD 2,390; median 138 days to acceptance (98 articles, last 24 months); 60 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitation, Spine and Intervertebral Disc Pathology and Myofascial pain diagnosis and treatment, together about 54.5% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies aims to improve patient care of musculoskeletal conditions by publishing basic science, clinical and health services research that is relevant to chiropractors, manual therapists and related fields, including physical therapy, osteopathy, sports medicine, and rehabilitation. The range of services provided by these professions may include manual and physical therapies, exercise therapies, lifestyle counselling (including nutrition/nutritional therapy), self-management support and pain management, plus a variety of other associated therapeutic and rehabilitation approaches. We serve as a critical resource in this field to ensure freely and readily available evidence-based information about musculoskeletal conditions for practitioners, researchers and clinicians worldwide. Official Journal of Chiropractic Australia, Royal College of Chiropractors, the European Chiropractors’ Union and Canadian Chiropractic Association. International and renowned Editorial Board Publishes high quality and high visibility Open-Access research Indexed in Web of Science (SCIE), Scopus, PubMed Central, DOAJ, MEDLINE and more
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Editor-in-chief Iben AxePublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 17, United States 13, Canada 8, Denmark 8, United Kingdom 4 (59 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine35.3%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine13.6%
- Myofascial pain diagnosis and treatmentBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.7%
- Cervical and Thoracic MyelopathyMedicine4%
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine StudiesMedicine3.7%
- Occupational Health and PerformanceHealth Professions3.7%
- Musculoskeletal Disorders and RehabilitationMedicine3.6%
- Scoliosis diagnosis and treatmentMedicine2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPMCEmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.4LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.56LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.04LetPub ·
- h-index
- 58OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 510OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.5OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 29.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 55LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 797,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 938 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 52 | 52 | 10 |
| 2025 | 60 | 60 | 113 |
| 2024 | 41 | 41 | 259 |
| 2023 | 50 | 50 | 268 |
| 2022 | 62 | 62 | 878 |
| 2021 | 52 | 52 | 683 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
138 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 94 days – 182 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 17 days (98 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 156 days
- Sample
- 98 articles with submission and acceptance dates (125 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 20 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 18 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,090 / USD 2,390 / GBP 1,770 | Yes | CC BY, CC0 | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,290 / EUR 1,990 / GBP 1,690 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,590 / USD 2,190 / EUR 1,890 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,770 / USD 2,390 / EUR 2,090 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted13
- case reportResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- commentaryResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- databaseResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- debateResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- hypothesisResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- letter to the editorResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- methodologyResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- research articleResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- reviewResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- scoping reviewsResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- short reportResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- study protocolResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
- systematic reviewResearch article Case report Commentary Database Debate Hypothesis Letter to the Editor Methodology Review Scoping Reviews Short report Study protocol Systemati…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data availability: datasets should be deposited in public repositories or included in the paper/supporting files; mandatory where community expectation exists. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Chiropractic & Manual Therapies articles are published open access under a CC BY (Creative Commons Attributi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2005
- ISSN
- 2045-709X
- Society / sponsor
- Chiropractic Australia
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Chiropractic & Manual Therapies
What CAS zone is Chiropractic & Manual Therapies in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Chiropractic & Manual Therapies is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Chiropractic & Manual Therapies?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.4; CiteScore 3.9, h-index 58.
How long does peer review take at Chiropractic & Manual Therapies?
Based on the dates recorded on 98 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 138 days (interquartile range 94–182 days); authors report an average review time of about 20 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Chiropractic & Manual Therapies based?
Of the 59 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (17), United States (13) and Canada (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Chiropractic & Manual Therapies?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Chiropractic & Manual Therapies is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PMC, Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Chiropractic & Manual Therapies open access, and what is the APC?
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,390.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .