Journal profile · BUSINESS, FINANCE

China Finance Review International

ISSN 2044-1398 · eISSN 2044-1401 · Emerald Publishing Limited · UK · Quarterly · Founded 2011

China Finance Review International: CAS Zone 1 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 10.8 (journal website); subscription journal; APC charged, amount not published; review about 32 days (submission to first decision, publisher); community-reported acceptance: 7.50%; 63 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor10.8From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 1 · Economics2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Economics
Review time32 daysPublisher-reported, submission to first decision (includes desk rejections)
APCCharged, amount not publishedSubscription journal
Acceptance7.50%Community average
Articles per year632025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

China Finance Review International is published by Emerald Publishing Limited and is in Zone 1 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Financial Markets and Investment Strategies, Corporate Finance and Governance and Market Dynamics and Volatility, together about 37.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Economics and Econometrics and Finance. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

China Finance Review International is a flagship academic journal broadly covering the Chinese and international financial markets. It aims to publish quality empirical and theoretical works on important finance and economic issues throughout the world.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): BUSINESS, FINANCE

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Financial Markets and Investment StrategiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance14.4%
  2. Corporate Finance and GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting12.8%
  3. Market Dynamics and VolatilityEconomics, Econometrics and Finance10.2%
  4. Financial Risk and Volatility ModelingEconomics, Econometrics and Finance6.8%
  5. Auditing, Earnings Management, GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting6.1%
  6. Banking stability, regulation, efficiencyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.8%
  7. Energy, Environment, Economic GrowthEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.1%
  8. Housing Market and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEconomicsZone 1
MinorBusiness, FinanceZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Economics Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEconomicsZone 1
MinorBusiness, FinanceZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Economics Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEconomicsZone 1
MinorBusiness, FinanceZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
10.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
19.9LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
19.9Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.82LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.95LetPub ·
h-index
43OpenAlex ·
i10-index
235OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
8.67OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
1.9%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
60LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
76,133Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 489 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202645465
2025636459
2024424776
20233151,086
2022244846
20213851,800

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average acceptance (community reports)
7.5%LetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
6.5%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
31.5 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
54 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Subscription journalLetPub

A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
≤ 6
Manuscript length
≤ 10,000 words
Reference style
Harvard
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6, with length limits
  1. editorialResearch Paper — up to 10000 words Viewpoint Literature Review General Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this j…Length not stated
  2. general reviewGeneral ReviewLength not stated
  3. literature reviewResearch Paper — up to 10000 words Viewpoint Literature Review General Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this j…Length not stated
  4. research paperResearch Paper — up to 10000 words Viewpoint Literature Review General Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this j…main text ≤ 10,000 words
  5. reviewResearch Paper — up to 10000 words Viewpoint Literature Review General Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this j…Length not stated
  6. viewpointResearch Paper — up to 10000 words Viewpoint Literature Review General Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this j…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Open access, Peer review
Authorship

This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English. Model summary

This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access options

This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and s Model summary

This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and self-archive your article (at no cost to the author). Read more about our open access options.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review type

Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers. Model summary

Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Emerald Publishing Limited
Country or region
UK
Language
English
Frequency
Quarterly
Founded
2011
ISSN
2044-1398
Electronic ISSN
2044-1401
Latest issue on the website
Volume 16, Issue 2 (June 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about China Finance Review International

What CAS zone is China Finance Review International in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, China Finance Review International is in Zone 1 of Economics, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Business, Finance; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Economics. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of China Finance Review International?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 10.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 19.9, h-index 43.

How long does peer review take at China Finance Review International?

The publisher reports about 32 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the community-reported acceptance is “7.50%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 6.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of China Finance Review International?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: ≤ 6; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words; Reference style: Harvard. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index China Finance Review International?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, China Finance Review International is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is China Finance Review International open access, and what is the APC?

China Finance Review International is a subscription journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .