Journal profile · PEDIATRICSPSYCHIATRY-PSYCHIATRY
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health
ISSN 1753-2000 · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Founded 2007
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.92; fully open access; APC about USD 3,290; median 136 days to acceptance (103 articles, last 24 months); 161 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Child Abuse and Trauma and Suicide and Self-Harm Studies, together about 37.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health, the official journal of the International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions, is an open access, online journal that provides an international platform for rapid and comprehensive scientific communication on child and adolescent mental health across different cultural backgrounds. CAPMH serves as a scientifically rigorous and broadly open forum for both interdisciplinary and cross-cultural exchange of research information, involving psychiatrists, paediatricians, psychologists, neuroscientists, and allied disciplines. The journal focusses on improving the knowledge base for the diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of mental health conditions in children and adolescents, and aims to integrate basic science, clinical research and the practical implementation of research findings. In addition, aspects which are still underrepresented in the traditional journals such as neurobiology and neuropsychology of psychiatric disorders in childhood and adolescence are considered.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PEDIATRICSPSYCHIATRY-PSYCHIATRY
Editor-in-chief Lakshmi SravantiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 9, Italy 5, United Kingdom 4, India 4, Germany 4 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology22.5%
- Child Abuse and TraumaPsychology7.8%
- Suicide and Self-Harm StudiesPsychology7.1%
- Attention Deficit Hyperactivity DisorderMedicine6.6%
- Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology5.1%
- COVID-19 and Mental HealthPsychology4.9%
- Autism Spectrum Disorder ResearchNeuroscience3.6%
- Maternal Mental Health During Pregnancy and PostpartumMedicine3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Pediatrics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbasePsycINFOCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.92LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.62LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.6LetPub ·
- h-index
- 34LetPub ·
- h-index
- 91OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 820OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.79OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 151LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,025Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 2,000,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,420 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 162 | 162 | 50 |
| 2025 | 161 | 161 | 688 |
| 2024 | 163 | 163 | 1,589 |
| 2023 | 143 | 143 | 2,380 |
| 2022 | 110 | 110 | 2,980 |
| 2021 | 82 | 82 | 1,887 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
136 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 88 days – 188 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 17 days (103 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 166 days
- Sample
- 103 articles with submission and acceptance dates (362 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,790 / USD 3,290 / GBP 2,490 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,190 / EUR 2,690 / GBP 2,390 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,290 / USD 3,090 / EUR 2,590 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,490 / USD 3,290 / EUR 2,790 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted5
- case reportCase report Review Research Comment CorrespondenceLength not stated
- commentCase report Review Research Comment CorrespondenceLength not stated
- correspondenceCase report Review Research Comment CorrespondenceLength not stated
- researchCase report Review Research Comment CorrespondenceLength not stated
- reviewCase report Review Research Comment CorrespondenceLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data sharing strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories or include in paper/supporting files. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licence. Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Cr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2007
- ISSN
- 1753-2000
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health
What CAS zone is Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Pediatrics / Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.92; CiteScore 7, h-index 91.
How long does peer review take at Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health?
Based on the dates recorded on 103 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 136 days (interquartile range 88–188 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (9), Italy (5) and United Kingdom (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health is indexed in SCIE, SSCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase, PsycINFO, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health open access, and what is the APC?
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Mental Health is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,290.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .