Journal profile · Physics and Astronomy-Physics and Astronomy (all)
Chemical Physics Letters: X
ISSN 2590-1419 · Elsevier
Chemical Physics Letters: X: impact factor 2.9 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,050; review about 69 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Chemical Physics Letters: X is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advanced Chemical Physics Studies, TiO2 Photocatalysis and Solar Cells and Advanced Photocatalysis Techniques, together about 50% of its articles. Its main subfields are Renewable Energy, Sustainability and the Environment. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Frontier research in molecular sciences, materials and biological systemsChemical Physics Letters publishes brief reports on molecules, interfaces, condensed phases, nanomaterials and nanostructures, polymers, biomolecular systems, and energy conversion and storage.Criteria for publication are quality, urgency and impact. Further, experimental results reported in the journal have direct relevance for theory, and theoretical developments or non-routine computations relate directly to experiment. Manuscripts must satisfy these criteria and should not be minor extensions of previous work.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Physics and Astronomy-Physics and Astronomy (all)
Editorial board by country: 18 in mainland China (about 15%); most named United States 38, Mainland China 18, United Kingdom 16, Germany 9, Italy 7 (124 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advanced Chemical Physics StudiesPhysics and Astronomy16.7%
- TiO2 Photocatalysis and Solar CellsEnergy16.7%
- Advanced Photocatalysis TechniquesEnergy16.7%
- Synthesis and Properties of Aromatic CompoundsChemistry16.7%
- Surface Chemistry and CatalysisEngineering16.7%
- Anodic Oxide Films and NanostructuresMaterials Science16.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Physics and Astronomy | Q2 | 65/240 | — |
| Physical and Theoretical Chemistry | Q2 | 69/174 | — |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.46LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.75LetPub ·
- h-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
69 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 28 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 69 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,050 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,410 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 100 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Templates
- LaTeX
- Highlights
- Required
Article types accepted3, with length limits
- brief reportThe Journal publishes brief reports which should be around 4,000 words (excluding tables and figure captions). Please note: a (combined) maximum of 8 normal-siz…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- commentThe editors also welcome Comments on Letters published in the Journal.Length not stated
- letterThe Journal publishes brief reports which should be around 4,000 words (excluding tables and figure captions). Please note: a (combined) maximum of 8 normal-siz…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Submission declaration: work not published previously (except preprint, abstract, lecture, thesis, registered report); not under consideration elsewhere; approved by all authors; not published elsewhere in same form without consent; manuscripts may be checked with screening tools. Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data statement required at submission; appears with published article on ScienceDirect. Model summary
To foster transparency, you are required to state the availability of any data at submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Authors must follow Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy. Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access options available; referred to open access information page. Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process; submissions initially assessed by editors; if suitable, sent to a minimum of two reviewers; decision made by editors; editors recuse from decisions on papers they wrote, written by family/colleagues, or with conflicts of interest; formal appeal per Elsevier's Appeal Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed per Elsevier policy; does not count as prior publication; free preprint posting service on SSRN offered; posting on SSRN optional and has no effect on editorial process. Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 2590-1419
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Chemical Physics Letters: X
What is the impact factor of Chemical Physics Letters: X?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.6, h-index 0.
How long does peer review take at Chemical Physics Letters: X?
The publisher reports about 69 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Chemical Physics Letters: X?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 100 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Templates: LaTeX; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Chemical Physics Letters: X based?
Of the 124 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 18 (about 15%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (38), Mainland China (18) and United Kingdom (16). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Chemical Physics Letters: X?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Chemical Physics Letters: X is indexed in Scopus.
Is Chemical Physics Letters: X open access, and what is the APC?
Chemical Physics Letters: X is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,050.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .