Journal profile · Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Cell Death and Differentiation
ISSN 1350-9047 · eISSN 1476-5403 · Springer Nature · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 1997
Cell Death and Differentiation: CAS Zone 1 · Biology (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 13.56; hybrid open access; APC about USD 5,790; median 214 days to acceptance (105 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 80%; 210 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Cell Death and Differentiation is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Biology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cell death mechanisms and regulation, Cancer-related Molecular Pathways and Autophagy in Disease and Therapy, together about 35.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Mission, vision and values of Cell Death & Differentiation: To devote itself to scientific excellence in the field of cell biology, molecular biology, and biochemistry of cell death and disease. To provide a unified forum for scientists and clinical researchers It is committed to the rapid publication of high quality original papers relating to these subjects, together with topical, usually solicited, reviews, meeting reports, editorial correspondence and occasional commentaries on controversial and scientifically informative issues.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cell death mechanisms and regulationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology18.8%
- Cancer-related Molecular PathwaysMedicine8.5%
- Autophagy in Disease and TherapyMedicine7.9%
- Ubiquitin and proteasome pathwaysBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6%
- Mitochondrial Function and PathologyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.5%
- interferon and immune responsesImmunology and Microbiology3.9%
- NF-κB Signaling PathwaysBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%
- Phagocytosis and Immune RegulationImmunology and Microbiology3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Biology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Biology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Biology Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC, EBSCO Discovery Service, Summon by ProQuest, BIOSIS, EBSCO Academic Search, EBSCO Advanced Placement Source, EBSCO Biomedical Reference Collection, EBSCO STM Source, EBSCO Science & Technology Collection, EBSCO TOC Premier
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 13.56LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 13.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 15.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 29.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 5.18LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 5.18Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.94LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 2.94Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 193LetPub ·
- h-index
- 317OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,939OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 10.01OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 49.69%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 190LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 6,788,667Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,919 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 225 | 144 | 153 |
| 2025 | 210 | 194 | 1,777 |
| 2024 | 184 | 184 | 4,267 |
| 2023 | 144 | 144 | 6,073 |
| 2022 | 196 | 196 | 14,751 |
| 2021 | 212 | 212 | 16,786 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
214 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 160 days – 275 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (105 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 225 days
- Sample
- 105 articles with submission and acceptance dates (483 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 80%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 222 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 5,790 / EUR 4,690 / GBP 3,990 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted8
- articleArticlesLength not stated
- commentaryCommentariesLength not stated
- databaseDatabasesLength not stated
- meeting reportMeeting ReportsLength not stated
- newsNewsLength not stated
- protocolProtocolsLength not stated
- reviewReviewsLength not stated
- videoVideosLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics
- Publication ethics
Member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Model summary
This journal is a member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1997
- ISSN
- 1350-9047
- Electronic ISSN
- 1476-5403
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Cell Death and Differentiation
What CAS zone is Cell Death and Differentiation in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Cell Death and Differentiation is in Zone 1 of Biology, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Biochemistry & Molecular Biology / Cell Biology; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Biology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Cell Death and Differentiation?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 13.56; CiteScore 29.3, h-index 317.
How long does peer review take at Cell Death and Differentiation?
Based on the dates recorded on 105 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 214 days (interquartile range 160–275 days); authors report an average review time of about 3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 80%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Cell Death and Differentiation?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Cell Death and Differentiation is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Cell Death and Differentiation open access, and what is the APC?
Cell Death and Differentiation is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 5,790.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .