Journal profile · Psychiatry
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE
ISSN 0706-7437 · eISSN 1497-0015 · SAGE Publications Inc. · CANADA · Monthly · Founded 1979
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.27; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,400; review about 119 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 105 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE is published by SAGE Publications Inc. and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Schizophrenia research and treatment, Mental Health and Psychiatry and Mental Health Treatment and Access, together about 29.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Established in 1956, The Canadian Journal of Psychiatry (The CJP) has been keeping psychiatrists up-to-date on the latest research for over 60 years. The CJP provides a forum for psychiatry and mental health professionals to share their findings with clinicians and researchers from around the world including more than 3000 individual and 10,000 … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Psychiatry
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 50, United States 11, Australia 3, United Kingdom 2, Netherlands 2 (71 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Schizophrenia research and treatmentMedicine12.4%
- Mental Health and PsychiatryArts and Humanities8.7%
- Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology8.1%
- Psychotherapy Techniques and ApplicationsPsychology6.9%
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology6.6%
- Treatment of Major DepressionMedicine5.6%
- Bipolar Disorder and TreatmentMedicine4.3%
- Suicide and Self-Harm StudiesPsychology3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.27LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.36LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.64LetPub ·
- h-index
- 102LetPub ·
- h-index
- 185OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,519OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.71OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 60%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 83LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,842 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 102 | 99 | 40 |
| 2025 | 105 | 104 | 277 |
| 2024 | 72 | 72 | 719 |
| 2023 | 72 | 72 | 641 |
| 2022 | 82 | 82 | 1,596 |
| 2021 | 111 | 111 | 1,732 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
119 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 38.1%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 54 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 119 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 38 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,400 / GBP 3,226 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Colour charges
- USD 800
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Not considered
- clinical trial protocols; case reports; book reviews
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- clinical trialResearch study which assigns subjects to intervention (eg. drugs, psychological treatments, nutraceuticals, dietary supplements etc) or control condition to ass…Length not stated
- clinician’s cornerThe focus of the article is to provide clinical evidence-based guidance for management. The scenario should be clinical and the journal has no expectations of d…Length not stated
- commentarynces • May be accompanied by an invited commentary of ≤1,200 words Clinician’s Corner The focus of the article is to provide cmain text ≤ 1,200 words
- in reviewPublished by invitation ONLY. The Editor-In-Chief invites experts in the field to write state-of-the-art reviews for publication. Unsolicited manuscripts are no…Length not stated
- meta-analysisnetic studies, imaging, cohort studies, meta-analysis, mega-analysis, etc) • 3,500 words • ≤300-word structured abstract • ≤5 figures and tables, comain text ≤ 3,500 words
- opinionArticle Type Description Requirements Perspective Brief articles covering emerging, contentious, or complex themes relevant to the journal’s mandate. These arti…main text ≤ 2,500 words · references ≤ 30
- original researchIncludes research findings of substantive original research studies (eg. clinical research, epidemiological studies, genetic studies, imaging, cohort studies, m…Length not stated
- research letterResearch LetterLength not stated
- systematic or scoping reviewsSystematic search and critical assessment of the literature with or without quantitative analysis (meta- analysis or mega-analysis)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: The fee for colour figures in print is US$800 for the first figure and US$200 for each additional figure in the same article. For specifically reques…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Single anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting guidelines
Your manuscript must follow the relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines, depending on the type of study. The EQUATOR wizard can help identify the appropriate guideline. You will need to upload the appropriate checklist with your submission. Other resources can be found at NLM’s Research Reporting Guidelines and Initiatives. If your research involves animals, you will be asked to confirm that…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Inc.
- Country or region
- CANADA
- Language
- Multi-Language
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1979
- ISSN
- 0706-7437
- Electronic ISSN
- 1497-0015
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE
What CAS zone is CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.27; CiteScore 7.3, h-index 185.
How long does peer review take at CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE?
The publisher reports about 119 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 38.1%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Reference style: Vancouver. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE based?
Of the 71 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (50), United States (11) and Australia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Is CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE open access, and what is the APC?
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHIATRY-REVUE CANADIENNE DE PSYCHIATRIE is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,400.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .