Journal profile · Ophthalmology
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE
ISSN 0008-4182 · eISSN 1715-3360 · Elsevier Inc. · CANADA · Bimonthly · Founded 1966
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.13; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,220; median 144 days to acceptance (119 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 75%; 224 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Glaucoma and retinal disorders, Intraocular Surgery and Lenses and Retinal Diseases and Treatments, together about 28.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology (CJO) is the official journal of the Canadian Ophthalmological Society and is committed to timely publication of original, peer-reviewed ophthalmology and vision science articles.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Ophthalmology
Editor-in-chief Varun ChaudharyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 3, United States 2, India 2, United Kingdom 1 (8 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine10.5%
- Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine9.3%
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine9.1%
- Retinal and Macular SurgeryMedicine6.8%
- Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine6.7%
- Ocular Diseases and Behçet’s SyndromeMedicine6.2%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine5.2%
- Ocular Oncology and TreatmentsMedicine5.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.13LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.5LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.56LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.91LetPub ·
- h-index
- 44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 73OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,509OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.24OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 17.74%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 141LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,428 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 203 | 113 | 28 |
| 2025 | 224 | 139 | 213 |
| 2024 | 212 | 112 | 554 |
| 2023 | 205 | 93 | 696 |
| 2022 | 189 | 40 | 647 |
| 2021 | 240 | 88 | 1,313 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
144 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 97 days – 220 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 31 days (119 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 178 days
- Sample
- 119 articles with submission and acceptance dates (596 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 75%LetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 15%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 73 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 138 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,220 / EUR 3,010 / GBP 2,580 / JPY 399,380 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- case reportFor case reports you are required to follow CARE guidelines and provide the CARE checklist at manuscript submission.Read the CARE guidelinesFollow the CARE chec…Length not stated
- correspondenceIncludes: case reports, case series, brief communication, and commentary. No abstractMaximum word count: 1,000Reference limit: 5Maximum number of tables/figures…Length not stated
- editorialEditorials are by invitation only. No abstractMaximum word count: 1,000Reference limit: 5Maximum number of tables/figures: 2Maximum number of authors: 2Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials Editorials are by invitation only.Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters concerning matters arising in recent CJO articles. The authors of the article being addressed will be invited to respond. No abstractMaximum word count:…references ≤ 350
- original research articlesOriginal Research Articles Includes high impact prospective studies, large retrospective studies, and systematic reviews and meta-analyses.Length not stated
- photo essaysPhoto Essays High-quality photographs, photomicrographs, or radiologic, multimodal, or other imaging studies, procedural illustrations depicting novel features …Length not stated
- research lettersResearch Letters Includes: prospective studies, retrospective studies, survey studies, and descriptive reviews of datasets.Length not stated
- review articleBy invitation only. Includes: narrative (literature) reviews and practice guidelines; should be the result of collaboration by leading scientists and clinicians…main text ≤ 250 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- review articlesReview Articles By invitation only. Includes: narrative (literature) reviews and practice guidelines; should be the result of collaboration by leading scientist…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process. Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Inc.
- Country or region
- CANADA
- Language
- Multi-Language
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1966
- ISSN
- 0008-4182
- Electronic ISSN
- 1715-3360
- Society / sponsor
- Canadian Ophthalmological Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE
What CAS zone is CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Ophthalmology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.13; CiteScore 2.5, h-index 73.
How long does peer review take at CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE?
Based on the dates recorded on 119 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 144 days (interquartile range 97–220 days); authors report an average review time of about 3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 75%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 15%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE based?
Of the 8 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (3), United States (2) and India (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE open access, and what is the APC?
CANADIAN JOURNAL OF OPHTHALMOLOGY-JOURNAL CANADIEN D OPHTALMOLOGIE is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,220.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .