Journal profile

BrJP

ISSN 2595-0118 · eISSN 2595-3192 · Sociedade Brasileira para o Estudo da Dor · Brazil

BrJP: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 36 weeks (community reports); 115 articles in 2025.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 36 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1152025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BrJP is published by Sociedade Brasileira para o Estudo da Dor. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitation, Pain Management and Opioid Use and Pain Mechanisms and Treatments, together about 41.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The main objective of the BrJP journal is to publish the results of original research into the treatment of pain and the understanding of acute pain, chronic pain, pain education, bioethics, pain in humans and pain in animals. With a multidisciplinary emphasis, BrJP publishes research results from various areas of health and areas related to the study and treatment of pain. Areas of interest: Acute pain, Chronic pain, Pain education, Pain treatment, Bioethics, Medicine, Pain in humans, Pain in animals. BrJP adopts the Creative Commons CC BY license: "This license allows others to distribute, remix, adapt and create from your work, even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you for the original creation. It is the most flexible of all the licenses available. It is recommended in order to maximize the dissemination and use of licensed materials." (Source: CC/Brazil). There is no charge to authors for submitting or processing articles (APC). As of January 2024, BrJP will be published under the continuous publication mode.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Juliana Barcellos de SouzaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Brazil 36, Spain 1, Mexico 1, Colombia 1 (39 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine17.1%
  2. Pain Management and Opioid UseMedicine12.2%
  3. Pain Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine12%
  4. Pain Management and TreatmentMedicine10.8%
  5. Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine8.3%
  6. Pediatric Pain Management TechniquesMedicine6.2%
  7. Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions6.2%
  8. Myofascial pain diagnosis and treatmentBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
25OpenAlex ·
i10-index
90OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.4OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,017 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20263030281
2025115115442
2024125125628
2023216216640
2022115115548
20217272459

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 36 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 36 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted3, with length limits
  1. case reportA single case or a series of cases related to acute or chronic pain can be presented here. Is is the recommended to consult the editorial board before submittin…Length not stated
  2. editorialPreprints BrJP accepts the submission of preprints. A preprint is defined as a complete and finalized manuscript for submission to a journal that is deposited o…Length not stated
  3. short communicationt communication publications consist of short communications (up to six per year) in a similar format to original articles, containing 1200 words and up to two …main text ≤ 1,200 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Conflicts of interest

Conflict of interest disclosure required for authors, reviewers, editors Model summary

Conflicts of interest can be of a personal, commercial, political, academic or financial nature.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethics and Misconduct Policy, Errata and Retraction

Follows COPE publication ethics code Model summary

BrJP adopts the principles of publication ethics included in the code of conduct of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Ethical issues and/or those that could damage the journal's reputation will be evaluated and retracted by the BrJP editorial board and the board of the Brazilian Society for the Study of Pain. In the event of misconduct, the retraction policy will be applied by the journa…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

CC BY license; authors retain copyright Model summary

Authors of articles published by BrJP retain the copyright of their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution license, which allows articles to be reused and distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited. The authors grant the journal the right of first publication under the , which allows access, printing, reading, distribution, remixing, adaptin…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access

Data availability statement required; data sharing encouraged Model summary

BrJP is an open-access journal, which means that all content is available free of charge, at no cost to the user or their institution. Users are authorized to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search or link the full texts of articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without seeking prior permission from the editor or author. Users must cite the source of the information with the …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review process

Follows CSE Editorial Policy Statements Model summary

Pre-Analysis: all manuscripts submitted to BrJP will be sent to the Editor-in-Chief. The Editor-in-Chief will be responsible for assessing and verifying that the potential publication is appropriate to the scope of the journal. Manuscripts that do not meet all the methodological and ethical requirements as well as the authenticity statement will be subject to analysis by a plagiarism software, usi…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprints accepted from trusted servers (SciELO Preprints, arXiv, bioRxiv, medRxiv) Model summary

BrJP accepts the submission of preprints. A preprint is defined as a complete and finalized manuscript for submission to a journal that is deposited on a trusted preprint server, before or in parallel to submission to a journal. Preprint submissions from the following servers are acceptable: SciELO Preprints, arXiv, bioRxiv, and medRxiv. The journal editors will analyze the acceptance of Preprints…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Randomized controlled clinical trials (CONSORT or TIDieR):

Clinical trials must provide registration from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) ClinicalTrials.gov or anzctr.org.au. Submit as a supplementary document the checklist for structuring the text according to the recommendations CONSORT or TIDieR. The title should take into account the information contained in the PICOT strategy (P: population; I: intervention: C: comparis…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Sociedade Brasileira para o Estudo da Dor
Country or region
Brazil
Language
Portuguese, English
ISSN
2595-0118
Electronic ISSN
2595-3192
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BrJP

How long does peer review take at BrJP?

Authors report an average review time of about 36 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of BrJP based?

Of the 39 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Brazil (36), Spain (1) and Mexico (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index BrJP?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BrJP is indexed in DOAJ.

Is BrJP open access, and what is the APC?

BrJP is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .