Journal profile · REHABILITATION
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
ISSN 0308-0226 · eISSN 1477-6006 · SAGE Publications Inc. · ENGLAND
British Journal of Occupational Therapy: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.46; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; median 193 days to acceptance (94 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 101 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
British Journal of Occupational Therapy is published by SAGE Publications Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Occupational Therapy Practice and Research, Cerebral Palsy and Movement Disorders and Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, together about 44.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The British Journal of Occupational Therapy (BJOT) publishes peer-reviewed articles with international relevance that advance knowledge in research, practice, education, and policy in occupational therapy. The journal has been established since 1938, is owned by the Royal College of Occupational Therapists, and has been published with Sage since 2015. It is published monthly and is peer reviewed, with complete editorial … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): REHABILITATION
Editor-in-chief Rod LambertPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United Kingdom 5, Mainland China 2, United States 2, South Africa 2, Japan 1 (18 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Occupational Therapy Practice and ResearchHealth Professions28.5%
- Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine9.2%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7.2%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering6.7%
- Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine4.5%
- Family and Disability Support ResearchPsychology3.8%
- Educational Reforms and InnovationsEnvironmental Science3.6%
- Assistive Technology in Communication and MobilityHealth Professions3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.46LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.74LetPub ·
- h-index
- 41LetPub ·
- h-index
- 72OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,542OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.18OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 38.4%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 88LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,112 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 105 | 56 | 12 |
| 2025 | 101 | 99 | 87 |
| 2024 | 84 | 84 | 244 |
| 2023 | 92 | 91 | 356 |
| 2022 | 90 | 90 | 407 |
| 2021 | 90 | 73 | 671 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
193 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 147 days – 272 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 43 days (94 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 249 days
- Sample
- 94 articles with submission and acceptance dates (162 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 42.6%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 196 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 42 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Harvard
- Cover letter
- Optional
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- book reviewIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…Length not stated
- editorialIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorials2.4 EditorialsLength not stated
- letters to the editorIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…Length not stated
- opinionIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…Length not stated
- protocolIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…main text ≤ 5,500 words
- registered randomised controlled trial (rct) protocols2.3 Registered Randomised Controlled Trial (RCT) ProtocolsLength not stated
- research2.1 Research Research articles should normally be between 4,000–5,500 words (main text, not including references) and should have not more than 35 references.Length not stated
- research articleIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…main text ≤ 5,500 words
- reviewIn line with our current strategy, we are not accepting book reviews, practice analysis, service evaluations, opinion pieces or letters to the editor. We partic…main text ≤ 5,500 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship 3.2 Authorship
All authors on a paper should have agreed to its submission, and the submitting author submits on all author’s behalf. When submitting, it is important to check that all those whose work contributed to the paper are acknowledged as contributing authors.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest
Sage Harvard reference style Model summary
BJOT adheres to the Sage Harvard reference style.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 4.1 Publication ethics
Member of Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) Model summary
Sage is committed to upholding the integrity of the academic record. We encourage you to refer to the Committee on Publication Ethics’ International Standards for Authors and view the Publication Ethics page on the Sage Author Gateway.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 4.3 Open access and author archiving
BJOT offers optional open access publishing via the Sage Choice programme and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. For more information on Open Access publishing options at Sage please visit Sage Open Access. Fo…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 3.1 Peer review policy
Double-anonymized peer review by at least two reviewers Model summary
BJOT is owned by the Royal College of Occupational Therapists (RCOT). The journal is editorially independent of the RCOT, which does not participate in the selection of manuscripts or in the wording of any individual pieces. All submissions to the journal are subject to peer review by at least two reviewers. BJOT operates a double-anonymized reviewing policy in which the reviewers and authors are …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism screening with duplication-checking software Model summary
Submitted articles will be checked with duplication-checking software.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines 3.8 Reporting guidelines
The relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines should be followed depending on the type of study. For example, all randomised controlled trials submitted for publication should include a completed CONSORT flow chart as a cited figure and the completed CONSORT checklist should be uploaded with your submission as a supplementary file. Systematic reviews and meta-analyses should include the comple…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Inc.
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 0308-0226
- Electronic ISSN
- 1477-6006
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about British Journal of Occupational Therapy
What CAS zone is British Journal of Occupational Therapy in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, British Journal of Occupational Therapy is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of British Journal of Occupational Therapy?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.46; CiteScore 2.3, h-index 72.
How long does peer review take at British Journal of Occupational Therapy?
Based on the dates recorded on 94 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 193 days (interquartile range 147–272 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 42.6%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of British Journal of Occupational Therapy?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Harvard; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of British Journal of Occupational Therapy based?
Of the 18 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (5), Mainland China (2) and United States (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index British Journal of Occupational Therapy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, British Journal of Occupational Therapy is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Is British Journal of Occupational Therapy open access, and what is the APC?
British Journal of Occupational Therapy is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .