Journal profile · Clinical Neurology
British Journal of Neurosurgery
ISSN 0268-8697 · eISSN 1360-046X · Informa Healthcare · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1987
British Journal of Neurosurgery: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.88; hybrid open access; median 135 days to acceptance (84 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 65 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
British Journal of Neurosurgery is published by Informa Healthcare and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cerebrospinal fluid and hydrocephalus, Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular Disturbances and Meningioma and schwannoma management, together about 25.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Aims and scopeJournal metrics Editorial board The British Journal of Neurosurgery is a leading international forum for debate in the field of neurosurgery, publishing original peer-reviewed articles of the highest quality, along with comment and correspondence on all topics of current interest to neurosurgeons worldwide. Coverage includes all aspects of case assessment and surgical practice, as well as wide-ranging research, with an emphasis on clinical rather than experimental material. Special emphasis is placed on postgraduate education with review articles on basic neurosciences and on the theory behind advances in techniques, investigation and clinical management. The British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the Editor. All papers are submitted to rigorous and independent single anonymous peer-review, ensuring the journal’s wide citation and its appearance in the major abstracting and indexing services. The British Journal of Neurosurgery is published in association with the Society of British Neurological Surgeons. Read full aims and scope
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Clinical Neurology
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cerebrospinal fluid and hydrocephalusNeuroscience8.7%
- Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular DisturbancesMedicine8.4%
- Meningioma and schwannoma managementMedicine8.3%
- Intracranial Aneurysms: Treatment and ComplicationsMedicine6.9%
- Glioma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.6%
- Neurosurgical Procedures and ComplicationsMedicine6.3%
- Spinal Fractures and Fixation TechniquesMedicine5.7%
- Head and Neck Surgical OncologyMedicine5.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.88LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.37LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- h-index
- 59LetPub ·
- h-index
- 97OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,599OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.95OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 8.68%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 53LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 6,114 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 96 | 21 | 11 |
| 2025 | 65 | 15 | 45 |
| 2024 | 72 | 23 | 165 |
| 2023 | 88 | 17 | 226 |
| 2022 | 155 | 21 | 744 |
| 2021 | 357 | 35 | 2,187 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
135 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 89 days – 216 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (84 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 151 days
- Sample
- 84 articles with submission and acceptance dates (181 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- case reportsThe British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the E…Length not stated
- letters to the editorThe British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the E…Length not stated
- original articlesThe British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the E…Length not stated
- review articlesThe British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the E…Length not stated
- short reportsThe British Journal of Neurosurgery accepts the following types of article: Original articles, Short reports, Case reports, Review articles and Letters to the E…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Open access publishing option available (Open Select) Model summary
Overview Open journals Open Select Dove Medical Press F1000Research
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer review process: single anonymous peer review Model summary
All papers are submitted to rigorous and independent single anonymous peer-review, ensuring the journal’s wide citation and its appearance in the major abstracting and indexing services.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Informa Healthcare
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1987
- ISSN
- 0268-8697
- Electronic ISSN
- 1360-046X
- Society / sponsor
- Society of British Neurological Surgeons
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 40, Issue 4 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about British Journal of Neurosurgery
What CAS zone is British Journal of Neurosurgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, British Journal of Neurosurgery is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of British Journal of Neurosurgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.88; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 97.
How long does peer review take at British Journal of Neurosurgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 84 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 135 days (interquartile range 89–216 days); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index British Journal of Neurosurgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, British Journal of Neurosurgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is British Journal of Neurosurgery open access, and what is the APC?
British Journal of Neurosurgery is a hybrid journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .