Journal profile · Multiple
British Journal of Management
ISSN 1045-3172 · eISSN 1467-8551 · Wiley-Blackwell
British Journal of Management: CAS Zone 2 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 6.47; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; median 413 days to acceptance (95 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 5% (journal website); 85 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
British Journal of Management is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 2 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Management and Organizational Studies, Corporate Finance and Governance and Innovation and Knowledge Management, together about 39.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Strategy and Management and Organizational Behavior and Human Resource Management. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The British Journal of Management (BJM) provides a valuable outlet for research and scholarship on management-orientated themes and topics. It publishes articles of a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary nature as well as research from within traditional disciplines and managerial functions. With contributions from around the globe, the journal includes articles across the full range of business and management disciplines and the field of management knowledge and education. A subscription to BJM includes the International Journal of Management Reviews, also published on behalf of the British Academy of Management.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Shuang RenPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United Kingdom 78, United States 15, Netherlands 8, Germany 7, France 7 (161 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Management and Organizational StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting13.9%
- Corporate Finance and GovernanceBusiness, Management and Accounting13.6%
- Innovation and Knowledge ManagementBusiness, Management and Accounting11.6%
- Gender Diversity and InequalitySocial Sciences5.3%
- Job Satisfaction and Organizational BehaviorBusiness, Management and Accounting4.9%
- Entrepreneurship Studies and InfluencesBusiness, Management and Accounting4.5%
- Family Business Performance and SuccessionBusiness, Management and Accounting4.2%
- Business Strategy and InnovationBusiness, Management and Accounting4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Management Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Business | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Management | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
INSPECPsycINFOCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 6.47LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 6.5Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 6.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 7.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 12.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 12.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 12.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.69LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.15LetPub ·
- h-index
- 186OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,497OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 7.75OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 68.9%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 76LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 76Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 719,298Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,106 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 78 | 53 | 24 |
| 2025 | 85 | 68 | 366 |
| 2024 | 105 | 94 | 1,688 |
| 2023 | 94 | 76 | 1,780 |
| 2022 | 114 | 85 | 3,783 |
| 2021 | 138 | 94 | 4,253 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
413 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 322 days – 562 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 30 days (95 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 448 days
- Sample
- 95 articles with submission and acceptance dates (178 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 5%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 24 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 24 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 403 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 28 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,900 / EUR 3,240 / GBP 2,590 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- review papers
Article types accepted3
- education theory articlesEducation theory articles are specific to the Management Knowledge and Education section of the journal. They are empirically informed articles on pedagogy (or …Length not stated
- empirical articlesEmpirical articles are the most common submission type and address any area within the journal’s aims and scope, other than Methodology Corner and Management Kn…Length not stated
- methodology corner articlesMethodology Corner articles aim to publish accounts of creative and innovative methodological developments within the management research field. These can be in…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Open access, Preprints
- AI use AI Policy
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship (as discussed in the previous section), no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access WALS + standard CTA or Open Access
You may choose to publish under the terms of the journal’s standard copyright agreement, or Open Access under the terms of a Creative Commons License.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprints allowed Model summary
This journal will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time. Authors are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article. Please find the Wiley preprint policy here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 1045-3172
- Electronic ISSN
- 1467-8551
- Society / sponsor
- British Academy of Management
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 37, Issue 3 (July 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about British Journal of Management
What CAS zone is British Journal of Management in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, British Journal of Management is in Zone 2 of Management, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Business / Management. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of British Journal of Management?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 6.47; CiteScore 12.4, h-index 186.
How long does peer review take at British Journal of Management?
Based on the dates recorded on 95 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 413 days (interquartile range 322–562 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 5% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of British Journal of Management?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of British Journal of Management based?
Of the 161 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (78), United States (15) and Netherlands (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index British Journal of Management?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, British Journal of Management is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists INSPEC, PsycINFO and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is British Journal of Management open access, and what is the APC?
British Journal of Management is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .