Journal profile · ORTHOPEDICS

Bone & Joint Open

ISSN 2633-1462 · The British Editorial Society of Bone & Joint Surgery · United Kingdom

Bone & Joint Open: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 8 weeks (community reports); 193 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor3.3From the journal's website, 2026 value
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review timeabout 8 weeksCommunity average
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1932025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Bone & Joint Open is published by The British Editorial Society of Bone & Joint Surgery and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty and Bone fractures and treatments, together about 40.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Bone & Joint Open is a gold open access journal publishing high-quality clinically relevant papers across all orthopaedic and trauma specialties. The journal aims to provide rapid publication of research across a range of disciplines, through a continuous publication model, and is fully Plan S compliant. The journal is aimed at all clinicians, researchers and care teams within the Orthopaedic & Trauma specialty. Information on BJO's Open Access policy and author publication charges can be found here. BJO will consider papers that provide clinically relevant orthopaedic information. BJO will not consider case reports, concurrent submission with multiple journals, or redundant material, and all authors must confirm that their paper is original, not under consideration elsewhere and that all have contributed to the paper.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ORTHOPEDICS

Editor-in-chief Fares S. HaddadPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 34, United States 4, Canada 2, Australia 2, India 1 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine17%
  2. Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine15.2%
  3. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine8.1%
  4. Hip and Femur FracturesMedicine8.1%
  5. Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine6.3%
  6. Hip disorders and treatmentsMedicine5.9%
  7. COVID-19 and healthcare impactsMedicine5.2%
  8. Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorOrthopedicsZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorOrthopedicsZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPMCPublisher website

Other: Portico, Crossref, Sherpa Romeo, Directory of Open Access listing

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2026
3.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
1.27LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.44LetPub ·
h-index
40OpenAlex ·
i10-index
311OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.27OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
6.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
96.08%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
191LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,036 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202614214242
2025193193515
20241431431,007
20231171171,220
20221261261,927
20211401402,535

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJGBP 930YesCC BY, CC BY-ND, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexGBP 800——
LetPubGBP 800Yes—
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 300 words
Manuscript length
≤ 4,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Optional
Not considered
preprint; Worldometers
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4
  1. infographicsWe welcome infographics created by our authors.Length not stated
  2. original articlesWe invite authors of original articles exploring topics such as the correction or prevention of deformity disorders or injuries of the skeleton and associated s…Length not stated
  3. protocolStudy protocols are welcomed, and do not need to comply with the word limit for article submissions. However, all other guidelines of the instructions for autho…Length not stated
  4. protocolsStudy protocols are welcomed, and do not need to comply with the word limit for article submissions.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

There is a limit of eight (8) authors. Each author must have contributed significantly to, and take public responsibility for, one or more of the following study aspects: -- Design -- Data acquisition -- Analysis and interpretation of data. Individuals who have contributed to only one section of the manuscript or have contributed only cases should be treated as a non-author and be credited in the …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest

Conflict of interest statement required Model summary

A conflict of interest statement is required for every article which is accepted for publication. This statement will have no bearing on the decision to publish, or not to publish. Bone & Joint Open will publish in each article a summary of the information collected in the author(s)' ICMJE Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest documents. These are retained by the Journal, and can be made a…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Publication Ethics and Malpractice

Ethical approval required Model summary

For a guide to the publication ethics and malpractice for Bone & Joint Open, please click here.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Permissions required for previously published material Model summary

Permission to reproduce any material or illustrations which have been previously published must be obtained from the author and the publisher, and written evidence of this must accompany the submitted article.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access and author publication charges

All papers published in PubMed Central Model summary

For information on BJO's Open Access policy, Creative Commons license information and applicable author publication charges (APCs), please click here.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review Policy

Double-blind peer review Model summary

Peer review ensures that we only publish papers that are scientifically sound. Our peer reviewers help us to maintain a high standard of publishing within orthopaedics. Bone & Joint Open utilises a rigourous, double-blind peer review process, to the same standard as that offered by The Bone & Joint Journal. All submissions will be assessed in-house by the Editor-in-Chief, and if deemed suitable th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprints not accepted Model summary

Please note that Bone & Joint Open will not consider any papers posted to preprint servers. Click here to read our editorial outlining this policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting Guidelines

Prospective registration required for RCTs Model summary

Please ensure you have selected the correct reporting guidelines for your study type and adhere to these when preparing your paper for submission. Click here for links to the guidelines we support.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
The British Editorial Society of Bone & Joint Surgery
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2633-1462
Latest issue on the website
Volume 6, Issue 7 (July 2025)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Bone & Joint Open

What CAS zone is Bone & Joint Open in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Bone & Joint Open is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Bone & Joint Open?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.3 (2026); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.6, h-index 40.

How long does peer review take at Bone & Joint Open?

Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Bone & Joint Open?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Bone & Joint Open based?

Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (34), United States (4) and Canada (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Bone & Joint Open?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Bone & Joint Open is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Bone & Joint Open open access, and what is the APC?

Bone & Joint Open is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .